Magnet Depth

I'm not 100% certain this is the correct forum for this; if I am mistaken, I apologize. I am just starting out magnetizing my collection for ease and safety of transport. A lot of people recommend 1.5 mm magnets for the 30 mm bases. I'm having trouble finding 1.5 mm magnets because most of the stores I look at list things in inches. 1 mm is 1/32 of an inch. 2 mm is 1/16 of an inch. Some people say that 50 mm bases have a 2.5 mm depth and thus a 3 mm magnet won't work, others say 3 mm (1/8 of an inch) works just fine. I can find magnets based on these measurements. I can't find anything in between. Can someone please link to a 1.5 mm magnet (or does it even matter; will a 1 mm work just fine)? Also, if anyone has any cases they recommend, I would love to hear about them. I purchased a three drawer plastic tub over the weekend that will fit a particular size cookie sheet just right but it is a cumbersome way to transport miniatures. I have been using Battlefoam but larger miniatures like the emissaries and Jorogomu are giving me problems, even with three inch pluck foam and there have been several occasions where parts of a miniature have broken off because of the pressure of the foam against the piece. I've looked at A-Case (and their new Kickstarter is very impressive), but it seems too small to hold very many miniatures, especially 50 mm in size. Thank you for your help and suggestions ;-) 

Since miniature height is not a game-balancing thing in this game, internal magnets aren't necessary; I just bought a 3mx25mm magnet tape strip from a store and glued pieces directly to the bottom. Of all my miniatures.

As far as a storage solution... I actually had to make my own, with 1x2 risers glued to the cookie sheets and magnets placed on top of said risers so they would cling to each other.

These are my D&D miniatures (and tell me if the picture doesn't work):

uc?export=download&id=0Bw6Rp8AlWaZ7SXBIW