Making mist?

Bumpasses

Hey everyone

I was trying to use liquitex to make an ethereal mist for huggy, but it just looks like water...

anyone have any secret tricks or tips?

I want to be able to see the wood base im painting through the mist...so essentially a cthulu-esque figure surrounded by ethereal mist, on a wood floor.

That is why I was trying liquitex and just dry brushing it white, so you could make out the feint wood floor through the mist, but it looks more like white caps on water, it doesn't have the smooth roundy-ness of mist (smoke).

Cotton/balls look meh, I was hoping for something more authentic looking.

thanks in advance

-joshuah

I've never tried to do something like this before, but I do know from doing swamp water that if you want colored liquitex, then you need to mix the coloring in with the liquitex before applying rather than painting the final product. I'm not sure if it will give the desired result but I would try pouring some liquitex into a cup and mixing it with a VERY small amount. Can't emphasize enough how important it is to use very little white (if using paint, ink works best) because if you use to much the liquitex will just be white, not a transparent white

I've never tried to do something like this before, but I do know from doing swamp water that if you want colored liquitex, then you need to mix the coloring in with the liquitex before applying rather than painting the final product. I'm not sure if it will give the desired result but I would try pouring some liquitex into a cup and mixing it with a VERY small amount. Can't emphasize enough how important it is to use very little white (if using paint, ink works best) because if you use to much the liquitex will just be white, not a transparent white