Help me paint the Nothing Beast

micahwc

So, this will be my first Nightmare edition ever and I want to do a paint job worthy of the model. Secondly, the FLGS near where I live has no Malifaux presence, I figure if I can paint a high quality NB in the store, it may bring some interest. This being said, I am an okay painter. Some things have turned out really, really, well. Others have not. Please help me paint this thing right. This thread is for advice, critique, and showcase. I will update it as I make progress.

1: The eyes: I love the glowing eyes on the NB in the box art and I was thinking about trying to do something similar with flouresent pigment. Any suggestions for how to do this?

2: Tara's eyes: I love the dark around Tarah's eyes and would like to replicate this. Any tips?

3: How do I make the wretches stand out. Based on the pictures, they all kind of look the same.

4: Paint scheme: I like the box paint scheme a lot and may go for it; however, I already have a lot of dark blue based crews. (Rasputina, Lilith, Yan Lo, etc). Any suggestions?

5: How do I make the NB and VW look like they come from nothing? My first idea is to base coat in black, and highlight just the edges in whatever color scheme. I think this would make it look like they are appearing out of nowhere, but I don't think it would be visually impressive. Any thoughts?

---------- Post added at 10:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:42 AM ----------

So i've been looking at the art for the box a lot and I have a few ideas.

Tara: It looks as if the bullet hole is the same way all the way through. I am thinking of widening the exit wound a bit, as reallistically exit wounds are much larger than entry wounds. I am also thinking about basing her in front of a wall. The wall will have a lot of blood spatter and gore on it level with the hole in Tara's chest. I hope it will look like she just got shot, and now she is ****ed off.