Mei Fang or Misaki

Wooden Crow

I am very new to Malifaux, I had my first demo game last night and played the Mei fang box with the Rail Golem. It was awesome, we used the M2E rules and the Henchman was great.

Anyway I was looking at picking up either the Mei Fang box with the Rail golem or going with the Misaki box and blisters to fill out the crew. I wanted to know what complements the Misaki box and what are the differences and similarities of this two crews. The group plays at 50 stones so looking to jump right in at that level.

Thanks

Crow

Not a lot of action over here with the beta going on. I might re-post this over in the 'New Player's Lounge'. That forum still gets some attention.....because people care about new players.

This is Dirty-D by the way. Great game last night. You really picked it up quick. I'm glad you're looking into it more.......you're going to add some great challenge into our group.

Its hard to answer your question at the moment as V2 is in flux a little. And not many people have much experience with the new models to say a and b are completly great together.

I assume that you would be intending to play Misaki as Ten Thunders rather than as Outcast. And Likewise you want to play Mei Feng as Ten Thunders rather than Arcanist.

Some of it depends on what upgrades to equip them with, but laregly Misaki is considered very good at pickign 1 model and killing it. Mei is better at moving around the board and doing a smaller amount of damage to lots of different models.

Both box sets would work together. Other common purchases for Misaki would be Archers and Yamizaki. Much of the general 10 Thunder stuff doesn't have a model yet so you would have to proxy it (the Samuri and the Monk for example)