Casting resin bases...

mcmourning san

Hello all, I am new to building miniatures and painting; I have purchased a few pewter bases but it is starting to get a bit expensive. I heard a friend tell me of casting your own bases from resin after having the pewter ones to make the imprint. I have since lost contact with this friend and I have no idea which supplies to do this and where I would be able to buy them from. Can someone please provide me with this information, it would be greatly appreciated.

Points again ^^^ at the copyright infringement comment...

That being said... I think your kind of looking at it wrong. Your aim is to save money. Your not going to be saving if just making a few bases. The supplies to mold and cast is not exactly cheap. If your just doing a crew or two you will spend more then just buying the inserts.

Points again ^^^ at the copyright infringement comment...

That being said... I think your kind of looking at it wrong. Your aim is to save money. Your not going to be saving if just making a few bases. The supplies to mold and cast is not exactly cheap. If your just doing a crew or two you will spend more then just buying the inserts.

Very true. The advantage is for saving time on rebuilding custom bases.

Like they've said, the mold material can run from $10 to $30 at decent craft stores, and the resin runs about the same prices, depending on the volume you purchase.

With that being said, making molds of existing things is a good learning experience towards customizing your own bases. Check out YouTube for several great tips and techniques.

Cheaper still, though, would be to browse other companies' custom bases that are not pewter, as they tend to be much more affordable and usually are available in greater quantities for their price.