Magnetizing Tutorial; or, how I learned to stop caring and love polarizing forces

Slimnoid

So, I've been experimenting with magnets for a couple months now, and I've found it to be an invaluable item in the miniatures hobby. First and foremost it can make some models much easier to transport, especially large or unwieldy creations like say, any big Warhammer model. They can also let you switch out weapons, hold rank and file models together on a movement tray, and generally let you play around with spinning limbs and making woop-woop-woop sounds. The possibilities are practically endless!

are-you-a-magnet.jpg

"But Slimnoid, you handsome man you," You ask, "how do you go about magnetizing things?" Well that's what this quick n' dirty tutorial is going to fix! By the end of my informative and totally not last-minute lesson, you'll go from this

magnets.jpg

to this!

tumblr_lmqa0mBekQ1qkm3xxo1_r1_500.jpg

In just thirty days.

Step 1: Tools

The most important part of this is having the necessary tools of the trade. If you're reading this, it's assumed you have the basics: a hobby knife, super glue, and a pin vice with large drill bits.

s30t38.jpg

aka the things that make other things

In this instance we'll be using 3.00mm rare earth magnets; you will need smaller magnets for smaller models. You want to use rare earth magnets and not say, the ones your mom puts your school drawings on and calls them a masterpiece; those don't have the strength to hold up to anything.

254588221_b066c7e113.jpg

Missing: my progress report, and for good reason

Of course, we can't do anything without models, now can we?

Step 2: Victims

3.00mm is pretty big for most 28mm scale models, which is why we're using the Imperium's finest in our little experiment.

9tg9hu.jpg

Give'em a hand, ladies and gentlemen