Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
zatoichi98

LCB unburing and pushing models

Recommended Posts

At GENCON, my opponent surrounded my dreamer with his models, then killed the dreamer. LCB then unburies, but as the Dreamer was completely surrounded, the other models had to be pushed so LCB could fit where the Dreamer was - at least this is what the GENCON judge ruled. Is this correct? What if there was some hazzardous terrain and the models being pushed ended up in it? Are there rules in the rulebook that govern something like this? (i.e. are they all pushed evenly, or can it be in one direction?) And what if the Dreamer was not killed, I simply just unburied LCB. Would the same thing happen? Seems like there is a lot of potential for abuse here. Anyone?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds like they got the rules wrong.

When The Dreamer is Killed, you can place any number of Buried Nightmares within 6" of the model. (This can include Lord Chompybits)

If the model can't fit, then it can't be placed.

There is nothign I can see in the rules that would push other models out of the way to allow them to fit.

But they would need a lot of models to prevent you finding any space you could legally place Chompybits.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You bring up a good point- there is a 6" range when the Dream dies, but what about when the Dreamer and LCB simply bury/unbury each other as part of (0) Nightmare Friend - one is supposed to be place in base contact with the other before being removed from play. In my GENCON situation, what if the Dreamer was not killed - say I simply wanted to bring out LCB but the Dreamer was COMPLETELY surrounded?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you can't place the model, it can't be placed.

Use frightening dream instead of Nightmare friend

For the All done trigger there isn't an alternative. Kill stuff with chompy first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only time the surrounding models are pushed back is when a model transforms (RM, p. 55), not when one is placed, replaced, switched or summoned. Those require that there is enough room to fit the base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If LCB cannot be placed in base contact with the Dreamer before the Dreamer is removed from play (because he was killed) and if there are no Daydreams alive or on the board, LCB has no way to unbury. So killing all the Daydreams and surrounding the Dreamer is a viable tactic?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's a tactic, I'm not certain how viable it is but if you've got the models and inclination to give it a go I say give it a whirl. Make sure you kill the Daydreams first though, as when you kill one they can unbury a nightmare within 6" of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

when the dreamer die he can place as many nightmares as he likes within 6" so it would be nearly impossible to stop chompy coming out. but killing all daydreams and dreamer would put you in a pretty good position regardless :)

if you can not only catch but physically surround the dreamer then thats quite a feat!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information