Hello from the Isle of Lewis

SteamHammer

Hi,

Another one of the recent wave of UK fans here. I've been playing for a couple of months now (although only had a few games) and thought it was time to stop lurking.

Malifaux signals the end of about a ten year gap from wargaming. Myself and a colleague at work decided to start gaming again and took a while deciding what to play. We thought about Warhammer or 40k which we had both played when younger as there were plenty of cheap(ish) armies on eBay but decided it was just too boring in design. We looked at Warmachine and Hordes but while the miniatures looked great it also seemed pretty expensive. And then we found Malifaux. Great setting and models, free PDF rules to try it out and cheap to start out with small gang. Perfect!

Of course, cheap forgot to take into account getting addicted to buying the miniatures to paint. Curse you Wyrd for making all the gangs so good! Plus fluff books, card decks and now puppets are swarming on the horizon.

I only know of the one other person in my area playing but hopefully word will spread.

I started with Colette's box set while he did Perdita's. Games would usually go along the lines of Colette (mostly Cassandra) steamrollering the Ortegas right up until soulstones ran out. And then dying.

It was early days where we were still very much in the "kill them all" mentality of the old games. Objectives were just things that you did while reloading or cleaning your blade.

Since then I've also expanded Colette's gang and painted up Rasputina's and the Death Marshals. I have other models on the painting table but they don't count for anything other than proxy models for summons.