Sewer board WIP

thatnicguy

Hey,my names nic im from perth in western australia.

Im working in a new gaming table. im notorious for starting new tables with big ideas then getting crap (even from my wife!) for not finishing them.

So i decided that im gonna throw up photos and do a little post on what im doin to motivate me to carry it thru to the end.

let me know what you think

May12011003.jpg

so this is the basic constuction, i work in the building industry as a painter as such i have access to tons of paint and plenty of tools which carry over to the hobby. The cardboard tube is all from a local fabric and free, the foam from friends and brother.

May12011004.jpg

a more aerial veiw, there will be about half a dozen pieces of terrain made separate to the board which will fill in the bigger gaps as required

May12011005.jpg

this one has hans in it for a scale reference. the foam is all getting thin card glued over and dressmaking pins stuck in for bolts

plan to do lots of different textures and colours (although same tone, limited palete) mostly to pick out each 'block' of terrain for strats/schemes

needs playtesting i'l post how that goes and try and get some regular updates as it takes shape.

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The bottom of the board is a product called MDF? its made from sawdust, they take the sawdust mix it with a bonding glue and smush it into a shape. I get the 5mm thick sheet which is pushing my luck, it can warp if your unlucky but the 3x3 size i dont think it will. I manage to get one which was the right width and only had to make one cut to get it to size.