Painting skin

Er1k

~Hi Folks

The wifes away for a couple of days and I'm looking forward to getting my paints out and starting to paint my Convict Gunslinger. I'm not very good at painting flesh and was hoping someone could give me some hints ant tipe. I'll be using GW paints and Ive already sprayed the model white and given it a badab black wash to create the deepest shades. Any hints and tips you guys could offer would be great

Thanks in advance

Hi I use gw paints.I do my skin tones with a dwarf flesh base coat.light wash with ogryn flesh wash.back to dwarf leaving the wash in the resesses and highlight with elf flesh.little bits at a time.and maybe a final highlight with a tip of bleached bone mixed in but used very sparingly.you can see my gallery for how it comes out. :)

There is a tutorial Automaton did a while ago which is pretty useful and in depth:

http://www.coolminiornot.com/articles/1757-urmuth-painting-flesh-and-using-colour

On thing I try to do is the base colour with 2 shades and one or two highlights. The thing I always do on flesh which was suggested by the article was a few glazes of colour in the flesh to change the focus and also make it a bit more interesting. When I did my Neverborn crew, the flesh had a slight tinge of Scab red in it, and around the eyes there was some Hawk Turquoise to change them a bit.

It depends how far you want to go with the model to how far closely you follow the article, but I've found picking a few points from it on what you want to focus on does OK for basic models, and you can take more and more to add a greater level of details for the model.

Hope it helps.