Newbie: Malifaux themes and miniatures

xenoss

I'm a newbie, I dont own figures for this game yet nor do I know how the rules beyond what I saw in the Gencon08 video demo on youtube. The website is not very helpful either (or perhaps I just dont know how to navigate it).

Malifaux is an alternate history / fantasy western skirmish game, right? Just to confirm.

The rules arent out yet but some of the figures are; all the Wyrd figures sold on the website are actually for Malifaux, right?

The scale is 32mm, so it'll be a little bigger than the usual affair. (sculpts look great btw)?

I have interest in the game and want to follow it till it is released. But for now I dont know much about it; can someone direct me to THE source of info?

Also, what company sells this scale of miniatures (and western themed)? I like a lot of the sculpts, but I don't see the quintessential gun slinger style sculpt. The 1 they do have is a woman, it looks nice and if I play I'll very likely get it. But I would still like to have a male gun slinger. Basically what I'm saying is I'm looking for a Clint Eastwood or Lee Van Cliff style fig on this scale. Any ideas?

Hey xenoss,

The best source for background material is the Wyrd Chronicles. It has many articles about the factions and awesome background stories (I have just finished reading the Guild articles...fantastic stuff). You can find them on Wyrd's main page or by these links:

REMEMBER THESE ARE BIG PDF'S SO DON'T OPEN THEM UNKNOWINGLY IF YOU HAVE A SLOW CONNECTION :)

Volume 1

http://wyrd-games.net/mint/pepper/orderedlist/downloads/download.php?file=http%3A//wyrd-games.net/Ezine/Wyrd%2520Chronicles%2520v1.pdf

Volume 2

http://wyrd-games.net/mint/pepper/orderedlist/downloads/download.php?file=http%3A//www.wyrd-games.net/Ezine/Wyrd%2520Chronicles%2520v2.pdf

Faction Spotlight

http://wyrd-games.net/mint/pepper/orderedlist/downloads/download.php?file=http%3A//www.wyrd-games.net/Ezine/WC%2520Faction%2520Spotlight.pdf