Some questions from a new player

Rengrave

Question

So as the title says, I'm very new to 3E. I played a tiny bit in 2E near the beginning of the edition but only a few games.

In reading the rulebook am I left with a few questions. (If they are explicitly in the book I am totally happy with just a page number of where I should go re-read the book).

1 - What do Keywords actually do? Is it anything more than just a restriction on crew hire costs?

2 - What if any are the significant differences between Minion, Henchman, and Enforcer? (Are there other categories on this level I am missing?)

3 - Do all VPs come from Strategies and Schemes? 

4 - What determines the end of the game? I've seen many battle report videos where they say something like "And we decided to call it at turn 5." or something similar and I've yet to see a reason why they did that. Was it just that they got bored of playing? In none of these situations was one of the players tabled or anything so I am not clear on why/how the game ends.

5 - If you are tabled or your Master is killed do you lose immediately (like in Warmachine/Hordes)?

• Like 1

4 answers to this question

1. Keywords affect hiring costs and often models will have abilities that affect certain keywords. So there tends to be some synergies.

2. You've missed masters. Masters and henchmen can use stones. Minions can be taken in multiples up to a limit. Some abilities and schemes care about particular ranks (such as the catch and release scheme).

3. Yes.

4. The game ends at the end of turn 5. However, since the scoring conditions can be quite demanding, sometimes you will see you have no path to affecting the outcome of the game and call it early.

5. Nope! You can lose every model on the table and win on points, although that is rare.

• Thanks 1
  • Agree 2