Modifying TTB session structure, and adapting for other settings? (Destiny Steps specifically)

Zarpd

I recently discovered Through The Breach and I am a bit fascinated by it! I do not know anything about Malifaux as a setting and this book is my first exposure to any of it.

I have a lot of experience running D&D and other systems, but the rules for Through The Breach are really hitting me differently. I find it really interesting that the players typically do all the "Dice rolling" (cards), how the different skill triggers can really add flavour to even the simplest interactions, and the way you can sort of change your class from session to session by way of picking new pursuits at the start of an adventure. Heck, I could ramble about the cool ideas in basic systems for a few paragraphs, and I haven't even started on the magic section yet!

My group tends to enjoy more sandbox style adventures, and due to real life commitments it is quite common for 1 or 2 players to miss sessions. This seems to run directly counter to TTB's structure, where each session is supposed to involve a player's Destiny Step and campaigns run for an amount of sessions equal to the players at the table x5. I am worried that this will be a non-starter for the game and that our group simply cannot fit with the game.

Is Through The Breach still fun if you ignore the Destiny Steps / Session Structure and run it more open ended? Or is a firm session structure (Prologue -> Pursuits -> Adventure -> Epilogue) so important to the game that we would be destroying too much of the game if we decided to ignore those rules? Are there other parts of TTB that you feel should never change, or aspects that are more malleable and can be adapted to different settings if need be?