The Dreamer Insomniac Musings

JayMalifaux87

With the new Malifaux Burns book released, I decided to play my first title master, The Dreamer Insomniac. I lost, 3-5, but only about 30% of my problem was bad flips. I probably should've taken more models with the lucid dreams bonus action, and Lady Yume. In other words, time to do some more building, LOL. I'm still learning how to use the sleepless wonder, but it seems really powerful. with insomniac dreamer, you can build a bad to the bone control hand over the course of 2 turns, or 1 if you activate the dreamer last. plus you can take Lady Yume, instead of Chompy, because you can summon Chompy with a masks trigger on an attack action! combine that with some scheme running tactical abilities, and voila! you have a very well rounded master. The only drawback IMO is that Dreamer Insomniac doesn't deal much damage, so not exactly a power house when it comes to that. You'll have to try to keep your minions alive long enough to outscore your opponent. also, don't know if you'd want to have a SS pool bigger than about 4-6 with this crew. I know, big words for someone who has only played the crew once, LOL. So, am I way off? let me know, and as always happy gaming!

He's really strong. 100% support master, but what support does he provides (the +flip on key duels is awesome)! He also has an insane mobility so he can help a lot at scheming.

I only played 3 games with him so far, so I'm still learning as well. 

I think you need at least 4 LD models, but 5 to 6 seems more reasonable (so you don't have to rely on Dreamer himself to get a new hand). You should always get 1 extra hand each turn imo. If you don't something is going wrong or your're lacking LD models.

10 minutes ago, JayMalifaux87 said:

you can take Lady Yume, instead of Chompy

I don't understand what you mean here. LCB is free... Being able to consume him with Lady Y and summon him back in position is a nice combo though.