Reva and pyre markers

Khormy

Question

Hi,

I am fairly new to Reva, so a question came up during my last game regarding pyre markers. Both Reva, Vincent and most of the crew has an ability called funeral pyre.

Funeral Pyre says: After this model kills another model, it may drop a 50mm hazardous (burning+1) Pyre marker into base contact with the killed model.

Reva's totems, the corpse candles have the following abilities:

Demise (smoldering heart): After this model is killed, Drop a 50mm Hazardous (burning+1) Pyre marker into base contact with this model.

Walking dead: When declaring or resolving  friendly actions or abilities, this model may count as a Corpse Marker. If the Corpse Marker would be removed, this model is killed and does not drop a Corpse Marker.

So to my understanding, if Reva kills the corpse candle (or uses it as a corpse marker to summon a new corpse candle ) the model will drop one pyre marker because of funeral pyre and one because of the demise ability. Is this correct?

My second question is related to Vincent's ability, Cremation: Target a Corpse Marker. Drop a 50mm Hazardous(burning+1) Pyre marker into base contact with the target, then remove the target.

So in this case how many Pyre markers are droped if vincent uses cremation on a corpse candle? I would say 3. One because he replaces the corpse marker(corpse candle ) with a pyre marker. However if I look at the rest of the crews abilities I would say the demise of the corpse candle is and funeral pyre also drops a pyre marker each, because walking dead states the corpse candle counts as killed in this case. Is this correct?

16 answers to this question

2 i believe, i think the line of semantics goes that cremation isnt killing the target, its effectively the candle killing itself cause the deaths on its card (so funeral pyre doesnt proc)

however my ability to remember resser stuff is not a shot short of shoddy so if anyone corrects it, probobly take their word quicker