Jump to content

Question About Skills Suits and Derived Aspects


ColonelAutumn9155
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hey all! I just picked up the Core Rulebook (2E) and read through it completely and I'm chomping at the bit to get a group together and try this out. There is one thing that I'm still a little confused about, and that is in regards to suits and derived aspects.

 

On page 79, there is a little callout box that reads: "If the character uses a Skill (such as Evade or Centering) to derive an Aspect, then the Derived Aspect also includes any suit associated with the Skill as this suit is part of the Skill's value."

 

I'm kinda lost here, because this seems like an impossible circumstance so I must be missing something.

 

You determine and note down your derived aspects at character creation, and as far as I'm aware, the only way to attach a suit to a skill is either by using the one on the card you flip in a duel, or by gaining one from a skill trigger which you can only declare after succeeding in a duel... There doesn't seem to be any way to just attach a suit to a particular skill by default, so how would a derived aspect ever gain a suit from a skill? Am I just blind?

 

Thanks, and sorry if this has been asked before.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Derived Aspects aren't just determined at character creation, they change as the characters Skills and Aspects change over the course of the game. An increase to Speed will increase the characters Defense (and Initiative), unless their Evade Skill is still higher than their Speed Aspect; adding a Suit to a Skill that is contributing to a Derived Aspect also contributes that Suit.*

Now that I'm thinking about it, I've assumed that if a character's Evade Skill is not being used to calculate their Defense (because their Speed Aspect is higher) than it wouldn't contribute any Suits, but it's still a part of the calculation, so I suppose it isn't completely clear? It would be nice to get conformation on this one way or the other.

*Players looking at the Collaborator Pursuit should note that this includes the Initiative Derived Aspect, via the Notice Skill (I missed this for a while somehow).

  • Agree 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information