Jump to content

Soulstone Miner's "Miner's Tunnel" trigger now damages it


Jinn
 Share

Recommended Posts

Soulstone Miners have this trigger on their "Drill into the Earth" bonus action

:crow Miner's Tunnel: When resolving, before this model is Buried, Create a 50mm Destructible, Hazardous (Damage 1 and Injured +1), Severe Pit Trap Marker into base contact with this model.

Now that the Hazardous rules have changed to include resolving actions while in base contact with Hazardous Terrain, declaring this trigger will now result in the Soulstone Miner suffering a damage and gaining Injured +1 before burying.

This isn't a problem for the rest of the models that create Pit Trap markers, as they can place them up to 2" away.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

59 minutes ago, Jinn said:

Soulstone Miners have this trigger on their "Drill into the Earth" bonus action

:crow Miner's Tunnel: When resolving, before this model is Buried, Create a 50mm Destructible, Hazardous (Damage 1 and Injured +1), Severe Pit Trap Marker into base contact with this model.

Now that the Hazardous rules have changed to include resolving actions while in base contact with Hazardous Terrain, declaring this trigger will now result in the Soulstone Miner suffering a damage and gaining Injured +1 before burying.

This isn't a problem for the rest of the models that create Pit Trap markers, as they can place them up to 2" away.

That's true, Triggers are considered part of the Action so it would resolve an Action while in Hazardous. But we can take Magical Training to mitigate- oh wait nope. Yea SS Miners are just not good lol

  • Like 1
  • Respectfully Disagree 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think there's that:

p37CR:

If a Hazardous Terrain Marker is moved, all models the Marker came into base contact with during the move, suffer the effects of the Hazardous Terrain. The model moving the Marker may choose to ignore the Hazardous effects of the moved Marker.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, Tahsarith said:

I think there's that:

p37CR:

If a Hazardous Terrain Marker is moved, all models the Marker came into base contact with during the move, suffer the effects of the Hazardous Terrain. The model moving the Marker may choose to ignore the Hazardous effects of the moved Marker.

Placing the marker doesn't count for these purposes anyway (even dropping a hazardous marker on enemies doesn't ping hazardous).

The issue is if you take an action where any part of that action you are in base contact with hazardous terrain, you take the hazardous.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Maniacal_cackle said:

Placing the marker doesn't count for these purposes anyway (even dropping a hazardous marker on enemies doesn't ping hazardous).

The issue is if you take an action where any part of that action you are in base contact with hazardous terrain, you take the hazardous.

Why don't you think that "The model moving the Marker may choose to ignore the Hazardous effects of the moved Marker" applies to the entire section?

After all, if you have an action that moves markers, and you move a hazardous terrain marker across your own base, you're going to be performing an action while you're in base contact with that marker.

So you either have to claim that the bullet pointed section doesn't actually work, or you have to claim that it also applies to the main paragraph, as far as I can tell.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, solkan said:

Why don't you think that "The model moving the Marker may choose to ignore the Hazardous effects of the moved Marker" applies to the entire section?

After all, if you have an action that moves markers, and you move a hazardous terrain marker across your own base, you're going to be performing an action while you're in base contact with that marker.

So you either have to claim that the bullet pointed section doesn't actually work, or you have to claim that it also applies to the main paragraph, as far as I can tell.

That's a fair point! The templating is super weird, but what isn't? xD

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, solkan said:

Why don't you think that "The model moving the Marker may choose to ignore the Hazardous effects of the moved Marker" applies to the entire section?

After all, if you have an action that moves markers, and you move a hazardous terrain marker across your own base, you're going to be performing an action while you're in base contact with that marker.

So you either have to claim that the bullet pointed section doesn't actually work, or you have to claim that it also applies to the main paragraph, as far as I can tell.

Unfortunately the Soulstone Miner doesn't at any point move the marker, so it definitely still takes the Hazardous even with this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, solkan said:

Why don't you think that "The model moving the Marker may choose to ignore the Hazardous effects of the moved Marker" applies to the entire section?

After all, if you have an action that moves markers, and you move a hazardous terrain marker across your own base, you're going to be performing an action while you're in base contact with that marker.

So you either have to claim that the bullet pointed section doesn't actually work, or you have to claim that it also applies to the main paragraph, as far as I can tell.

Perhaps because there are Abilities that can move Markers outside of Actions?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 6/2/2021 at 5:38 PM, Jinn said:

Unfortunately the Soulstone Miner doesn't at any point move the marker, so it definitely still takes the Hazardous even with this.

Would not placing the marker itself be considered a form of movement, you're literally moving the marker onto the table.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, dancater said:

Would not placing the marker itself be considered a form of movement, you're literally moving the marker onto the table.

Dropping and Creating a marker is not considered moving the marker according to the rules. You can find it at Markers, Drop and Create section, p28 of the latest digital rule book.

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information