Why play TTB?

Regelridderen

My ‘faux collection has spun out of control, now numbering 15 keywords across 5 factions, and so I was wondering if I could have more fun with them otherwise - since I prefer only two keywords.

Which of course led me to Through the Breach. 

I’ve been playing rpgs for 30 years now, with my most memorable experiences coming from Warhammer and Shadowrun - my worst from game-y generic systems like D&D - and the world of ‘faux seems to offer a lot of what these games delivered on. The question is more to the system, does it flow well, does it mechanics support the world? And most important of all is it fun - for campaigns as well as one-shots?

What’s your experience? Is it a great rpg in its own right, or more of a line extension to the mini game?

• Like 1

I'm not a huge RPGer (played a lot of 2nd edition d&d back in highschool but not much since) and did a 1 shot at gencon (the one with the malisaurus!!!) and had a lot of fun.  From my limited experience it works well as an RPG system.  We didn't play with minis (which honestly would be my preferred method as I'm used to pre-mini RPGs) but if you liked minis I dont see why you couldn't / wouldn't enjoy it that way.

For me the 2 pieces that really stood out was the character creation with the tarot, as it gave some fun possible story hooks for your fated.  I also really liked the way your custom deck worked + the shared deck compared to dice (but I also dislike dice chucking in general).

Things I'm not as crazy about is that the rules are closer to m2e than m3e, so if you've gotten used to m3e rules / gameplay you'll have a bit of a learning curve to remember how m2e worked (like stuff like impossible to wound / hard to wound +2 / terrifying ending activations / etc).  If you miss that stuff, great! but I dont haha.