Jump to content
  • 0

Hazardous Terrain clarification needed


Question

Quick question regarding Hazardous Terrain

I have 2 Pyre Marker, both close to each other (around o,5" of each other). I manage to force my opponent to move through 1 of them and finish his move partially on the second one.

Rules says: "...to a maximum if once" But it refers to THE hazardous terrain.

Possible answers
1- Model A Is affected by the first "Pyre Marker" and is immune to all other "Pyre Marker" for the rest of the activation
2- Model A is affected by both during the forced movement, but on his own activation will be affected by only one of them
3- Model A is affected by both during the forced movement, on his own activation will be affected by one of them. But if he moves, he will be affected by the other
4- Model A is affected by both during the forced movement AND on his own activation.

Just to be 100% clear, both Pyre marker are not touching or overlapping, but they are close enough where a model could end movement on both marker.

Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

Markers have a special rule that markers of the same type count as only one piece of hazardous terrain for the purposes of taking hazardous (no matter the distance).

So if you push through two pyre markers, you take the effect once.

If you push through a pyre marker and a pit trap, you take the effects of each once.

If you push through two pyre markers and two pit traps, you only take one pit trap and one pyre marker effect.

If you push through two bits of separate hazardous terrain that aren't markers, you take the effects of each.

  • Like 1
  • Agree 4
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

For the references...

From the Hazardous Markers callout, PDF page 36:

Quote

...

All Markers with the same name (i.e., Pyre Markers, Pit Trap Markers, etc.) count as the same piece of terrain for the purposes of the Hazardous Terrain Trait.

Thus, if a model was Pushed through three Pyre Markers and a single Pit Trap Marker, it would suffer the effects of moving through a single Pyre Marker and a single Pit Trap Marker.

And, as Touchdown points out, it's "once per Action or Ability":

Quote

... it suffers the effects of the Hazardous Terrain after the current Action or Ability is resolved (to a maximum of once per Action or Ability)

So, if you move through any number of Pyre Markers (just one, or even a dozen) during the resolution of an Action, you'd suffer the effects defined for Pyre Markers once at the end of that Action.  But, say the Action you took was a Walk that ended standing in a Pyre Marker.  The action or ability that moves you is going to set off the Pyre Marker effects again.

 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information