Jump to content

Rules question for the world series.


Recommended Posts

I have a couple rules questions for the world series (which have previously been discussed on the rules forums).

  1. Do strategy markers count as valid terrain for the purposes of abilities?
    1. Can Seamus Secret passage through leylines?
    2. Can favourable terrain count the impassable terrain?
  2. Can Bete Noire use her bonus action (target a corpse marker and remove it to charge) even when unburied and on the table?

These are both ambiguous-ish areas of the rules, so would be good to have something clear cut.

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, santaclaws01 said:

Could also do with some explorer's related FAQ's.

How healing at max health with We Are Legion works is definitely a big one.

We've got some lined up, and I'll add We Are Legion to the list. Feel free to drop anything else here if you think it need to go in the faq.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Maniacal_cackle said:

Can Seamus Secret passage through leylines?

Seamus should be able to, because he doesn't target (or even 'choose') the Blocking strategy marker.  It isn't really any different than using Secret Passage and taking advantage of someone leaving Ice Pillars in favorable positions.  :) 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, solkan said:

Seamus should be able to, because he doesn't target (or even 'choose') the Blocking strategy marker.  It isn't really any different than using Secret Passage and taking advantage of someone leaving Ice Pillars in favorable positions.  :) 

That's what I think the more I think of it, it just felt a bit of a dirty tactic and wanted to check xD.

The part that especially convinces me is that if the answer is no for seamus, a lot of other abilities behave weirdly too.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not playing, so feel free to ignore, but I don't understand the gunfigher answer.

Do you say during the action if you are engaging or not, in which case can you outright deny disengage and charge actions, and prevent walk actions leaving, or do you decide before the opponent says what action it is taking?

Link to post
Share on other sites
24 minutes ago, Adran said:

Do you say during the action if you are engaging or not, in which case can you outright deny disengage and charge actions, and prevent walk actions leaving, or do you decide before the opponent says what action it is taking?

The intent is the Gunfighter must choose before the opponent declares any actions. Gunfighters shouldn't be able able negate actions just by existing. Ty for mentioning it, we'll clarify the language before the next event.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3 weeks later...

Oh, I don't think this answer is in the FAQ...

Does terrain height matter for concealing? I notice many of the concealing types of terrain have a height listed. If one model is taller than the concealing terrain, can you ignore it? There was a big discussion on the rules forums about it:

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

No you can't ignore concealing as concealing deals with sight lines, not Line of Sight, an obvious example of this would be underbrush markers being ht 0, they would be pointless if you could ignore them if you were ht 1 or greater, as would alot of other markers. 

  • Like 1
  • Agree 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

I think we could really use an FAQ for page 50: “If a model is ever without any of its base supported by terrain or the table, that model falls […].” Nearly every opponent I’ve played has had a different interpretation of this passage, and there doesn’t really seem to be one that I see more often that the others. To date I’ve heard:
 

1.      If any part of the model’s base overhangs the terrain, it immediately falls

                         a.      This can result in an extra half inch to an inch of movement from the size of the model's base

                                                                                                 or

                         b.      This cannot grant extra movement, so the model can only overhang and fall if it has the movement to completely clear the terrain with its base.

 

2.      The model only falls if its base is completely unsupported. If any part of the model is on the terrain, it is considered on top of the terrain piece.

 

3.      If at least 50% of the model’s base is unsupported, the model falls off the terrain. This can result is extra movement.

Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Insomniakwulf said:

No you can't ignore concealing as concealing deals with sight lines, not Line of Sight, an obvious example of this would be underbrush markers being ht 0, they would be pointless if you could ignore them if you were ht 1 or greater, as would alot of other markers. 

Is that the official (for the Vassal series) answer then? :)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information