Does anyone skip hiring Ikiryo when taking Kirai into Recover Evidence?

Maniacal_cackle

I'm considering trying to learn Kirai for next month's tournament so I can use her for the Recover Evidence round.

Just wondering how people tackle her on that strategy. In particular, do people ever skip hiring Ikiryo so she can be summoned without an intel token? I imagine she is pretty weak as a re-usable missile when the opponent gets a point for it the first time you send her in to die.

I'm pretty new to the game, so take this with a grain of salt, but as a primary Kirai player, I find the double Ikiryo activation (if she dies and is resummoned) so powerful that it's worth her being an obvious choice for an evidence token. Typically in Recover Evidence I have so much board control with summons that I can tie up whatever is near the strategy marker Ikiryo drops and keep them from picking it up.

• Like 1

16 hours ago, Brightfire said:

I'm pretty new to the game, so take this with a grain of salt, but as a primary Kirai player, I find the double Ikiryo activation (if she dies and is resummoned) so powerful that it's worth her being an obvious choice for an evidence token. Typically in Recover Evidence I have so much board control with summons that I can tie up whatever is near the strategy marker Ikiryo drops and keep them from picking it up.

Do you usually missile her turn one, then?

As you can still do this turn two onwards (assuming cards).

I heard or read this tactic somewhere:

When ikiryo has a token you can take her down to 1 wound yourself and she drops the strat marker on your half of the table, and then you throw her in the enemy lines 2 times. It's not as effective but you saved one strat marker, at least for now and the enemy has to move to your side and pick it up...

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Maniacal_cackle said:

Do you usually missile her turn one, then?

As you can still do this turn two onwards (assuming cards).