Jump to content
  • 0

Yokai Ephemeral Warriors


Question

If a Yokai uses it's bonus action, gaining a Flicker Token, and uses From Beyond to get a + for the duel, gaining another Flicker Token, does Ephemeral Warriors trigger twice after the action is completed, allowing you to place within 3" twice?

Similarly, if the Yokai uses it's attack action with a bonus from From Beyond, and then triggers Unnatural Speed, gaining an additional Flicker token, does the Yokai get to place within 3" twice before resolving the extra Attack Action?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Recommended Posts

  • 0
On 10/14/2020 at 10:29 AM, regleant said:

Reading this as if it were Magic: the Gathering, the check for a Flicker happens at the end the current action. If the answer is YES, a flicker token was gained, then it places. If it received 2 Flickers, the answer is still YES, and it places. Until Ephemeral Warriors uses the word "for each Flicker token", it should only place once, as the check happens at the end of the action, rather than adding to the stack as the flicker is gained.

Here are some of the things wrong with this statement:

*  "the check for a Flicker happens at the end of the current action".  There is no principle that states that abilities are checked at the end of an action.  Instead, the rules state that by default abilities are always in effect and create effects in reaction to various events.

* Whatever timing rules that Magic the Gathering has, those timing rules apply because the rules for that game says so.  How many pages are the detailed rules (not the rules fold out, the actual detailed rules, with all of the timing and interactions between the effects spelled out) these days?

* The "stack" in MtG is a bizarre rules construct that exists because the rules say it does.  Just like alternating activation of models is a bizarre rules construct that exists because the rules say it does.  The stack rules from MtG don't apply to Malifaux, just like the alternating activation rules don't apply to MtG.  And the reaction you'll get if you try to convince a MtG player that you should alternate activating your cards is the same reaction you'll get trying to claim that the "stack" rules apply to war-games like Malifaux.

By default, things happen when they say they happen.  The rules clarify that by informing that an effect that says 'after X' means it's the very next thing that happens after X happens.  Lots of effects have limitations built into them (like Auras being non-cumulative, or various abilities getting resolved at the end of the current action or ability).  Those limitations are specified where they apply, you're not supposed to guess and apply them elsewhere.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information