Jump to content

Outcasts Starter Box


Recommended Posts

Both the Freikorps and Mercenary Keywords have a lot of Discard effects and not necessarily much in the way of Draw, so I can see Yannic being a big boon to both. Discard a card for a Scheme Marker effects like Parker's Draw Their Attention also get a boost, since they turn from a transaction (Pay X for Y) to gift (Draw a card, status quo otherwise remains largely unchanged) provided a marker is already in position. 

 

There are a lot of interesting possibilities more generally with this lot, it's going to be fun teasing them out.

  • Like 1
  • Agree 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 107
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Ask yourself this:  Do you really want to face 22" range, Stat 7 rocket launcher shots? Because that's how you get 22" range, Stat 7 rocket launcher shots. And personally, I like the Trapper

We have our first full look at the box's contents with it appearing on the upcoming releases for June.    Two Catalan Riflemen (not snipers, making me think it's quite likely they don't have

CR7 just got a lot better in outcasts. The brawler gives them the targeted condition removal they were missing, but yannic is great with sloth. Heal all enemies in range, then damage them all 1. Then

Posted Images

A Freikorps Engineer can tools for the job, then first action drop a scheme marker, bonus strengthen armor (discarding the marker) to draw 2 cards, and then still take a shot or charge something. If you discarded a tome for Tools, it could be a focused attack too.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, touchdown said:

A Freikorps Engineer can tools for the job, then first action drop a scheme marker, bonus strengthen armor (discarding the marker) to draw 2 cards, and then still take a shot or charge something. If you discarded a tome for Tools, it could be a focused attack too.

Wowza. Outcast card draw just got so much stronger xD

She is pretty squishy, though, so imagine it can be answered.  Good power for your first few turns though.

  • Agree 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, touchdown said:

Think there's viable Yannic leader lists?

I still need some fine tuning, but Yannic, Emissary, Surveyors, and all the impassable terrain!

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, malyzubor said:

Don't know if I would be able to fit Yannic into Daw, but their synergy (undying, injustice and ingenuity) seems to be quite interesting. But I doubt anyone would attack daw if Yannic is around. 🙂

Would Undying work?

It says you may discard a card, so that definitely works with Yannick. However the next line says "If you do so,..." That makes it seem like it wouldn't work for changing the damage because you didn't discard a card, you did something else. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Thatguy said:

Would Undying work?

It says you may discard a card, so that definitely works with Yannick. However the next line says "If you do so,..." That makes it seem like it wouldn't work for changing the damage because you didn't discard a card, you did something else. 

And how does Execute work? If you use Ingenuity do you draw a card and then die? Or still don't die?

Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, touchdown said:

And how does Execute work? If you use Ingenuity do you draw a card and then die? Or still don't die?

You die. You did not discard a card nor a SS. It doesn't also work with costs like Juggernaut IMHO because the cost was not paid.

Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, touchdown said:

And how does Execute work? If you use Ingenuity do you draw a card and then die? Or still don't die?

I would read it as you die, since there are two parts:

1. you may do a thing. 

2. If you did the thing, do x.

Yannic lets you remove a scheme maker and draw a card instead of discarding. But it doesn't say: "That model still counts as discarding for game effects."

Maybe that's not RAI, so it might be good to ask for a FAQ clarification.

 

 

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, trikk said:

You die. You did not discard a card nor a SS. It doesn't also work with costs like Juggernaut IMHO because the cost was not paid.

That means it won't work a lot of the ideas I've put in here. No Strengthen Armor or For the Corps synergy either.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it would work for costs. Because they're:

1. Pay the cost.

2. Do the thing.

Not 

1. You may pay the cost.

2. If the cost was payed, do the thing.

Ie, there's no portion of part 2 that checks to see what you did in part 1. 

I could be wrong, but it certainly seems like Yannic's Aura was intended to work with For the Corps and Juggernaut.

 

  • Agree 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Thatguy said:

I think it would work for costs. Because they're:

1. Pay the cost.

2. Do the thing.

Not 

1. You may pay the cost.

2. If the cost was payed, do the thing.

Ie, there's no portion of part 2 that checks to see what you did in part 1. 

I could be wrong, but it certainly seems like Yannic's Aura was intended to work with For the Corps and Juggernaut.

 

Agreed.  Otherwise, Dashel's totem wouldn't draw you a card off of Executioner's doing Trail of Gore, because it is also taking the place of a cost while not being that cost.

  • Agree 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

CR7 just got a lot better in outcasts. The brawler gives them the targeted condition removal they were missing, but yannic is great with sloth. Heal all enemies in range, then damage them all 1. Then give all those models within range of sloth a sin token

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

The faq question on costs says that your attempt to pay the cost is what matters. It's talking about damage but I can't see why it wouldn't apply here. So I think it ought to work as counting as the card discard. If anything relates to the discarded card, then that won't apply ( such as tools for the job and aethric healing).

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

What's hilarious is they don't even have to be able to hit anything.

Sit them in your deployment zone, and just keep dropping a scheme and then rapid firing something on the other side of the table. The attack fails, but you get to rapid fire xD

That's a lot of stones for a bad draw engine xD

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, so I just looked over the catalan riflemen again, and this exact trick works for them as well, except that they're good without it too. They can for the corps and draw a card and remove then drop a scheme marker, then shoot twice. Better gun, ignores shooting defenses, better triggers and easier access to them, all for 1ss more. I wanted to make desperate mercs useful but if they weren't dead already, catalans killed them

Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Adran said:

The faq question on costs says that your attempt to pay the cost is what matters. It's talking about damage but I can't see why it wouldn't apply here. So I think it ought to work as counting as the card discard. If anything relates to the discarded card, then that won't apply ( such as tools for the job and aethric healing).

Doesn't Necrotic Decay work the other way round? Where the second part references the actual results of the first? Like if you try to suffer 2 damage, but armor/shielded stops 1, you only get the one damage boost, not two?

Link to post
Share on other sites
27 minutes ago, Thatguy said:

Doesn't Necrotic Decay work the other way round? Where the second part references the actual results of the first? Like if you try to suffer 2 damage, but armor/shielded stops 1, you only get the one damage boost, not two?

I don't have the FAQ to hand, but from memory that is because the trigger refers to the amount suffered later on

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information