Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
eddy

Dove trick

Question

Colette use sword trick on a dove then she use the dove as SS to gain mask for trigger which she declares.

What happens? 

Does her triger work? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Best guess at the moment is her trigger doesn't work, because its a when resolving trigger, so it alters the action as it is resolving, and because the target is dead before you get to the duel, so you end the action before you get to the part where the trigger would apply.

I can't see something in the rules that expressly say that a dead model can't take part in the duel, or that the removal of the target from the duel means you don't carry out the action, but likewise I can't find anything to tell me how to resolve those.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I think in this cease trigger does not care about target being dead as it does not require b2b or effect target. Imo it does not stop Colette from burrying  as there is no rule that says that action ends after killing model.,but i gladly hear arguments for other way. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 minutes ago, eddy said:

I think in this cease trigger does not care about target being dead as it does not require b2b or effect target. Imo it does not stop Colette from burrying  as there is no rule that says that action ends after killing model.,but i gladly hear arguments for other way. 

Can you tell me how to conduct a duel between 2 models when there is only 1 model? I can't tell you how to do that in the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I could see an argument for this resolution:

you declare sword trick targeting the dove

you kill the dove for the SS

you spend the SS for for a mask

the attack fails because there's no longer a valid target. You don't flip any cards

you bury because the trigger is after resolving so it doesn't need to succeed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
38 minutes ago, touchdown said:

 

you bury because the trigger is after resolving so it doesn't need to succeed

It's a shame the trigger is a when resolving trigger not after resolving, so it does need to succeed. 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Argument for trigger working: Both relenting duel and enchance duel takes place in step A (page 10) (or relenting is even before step A)so active player can choose order.  After declaring relenting Dove skips steps A-D and his final total is set.  Then step A happens for Colette and dove dies. Then she flip card  i step B moves through step C and D. At step E Colette declares trigger. During step F we alredy know Dove total from declaring relent. Her total excedes dove total (which was determined when he was alive) so acction is succesful. Dmg does not matter but trigger does not care about orginal target so Colette buries. 

This scenario is mostly based on page 10 digital rulebook

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information