Maybe I'm mistaken

I will admit that I am new to the faction so you can take what I say with a grain of salt. Maybe I have missed the threads, but it feels like the resser forums are sleepin on Yan Lo. I have about 10 games with him now and he is just a super solid leader and his keywords are strong as well. Ive gone up against Shen Long, Misaki, McCabe, Asami, Parker Barrows, and Marcus. I've been able to pull out ties against players who normally crush me. That's whats really sold me, like I'm still learning him and I'm putting strong players on their back foot. Yan Lo and his crew are deceptively fast, very tough, can dish quite a bit of damage, and can scheme fairly well. Now I did start playing him after the FAQ and Errata so maybe he had really bad matchups before that I didn't experience or have yet to. Give me your thoughts though. I'm having a hard time not choosing Yan Lo for every game. 

He's a very solid master, but since competitive games are only 2- 2 1/2 hours, it's harder for him to shine since you might not make it to late game. 

That being said, I've been playing him alot as well, and feel he's very well suited for every strat and scheme. He has fast scheme runners, access to solid beaters, support, and tar pits. He really is just solid.

• Agree 1

Yan lo seems to get more fans on the TT forums. I 'm not sure why, I don't know what extra he gets there. He will also be a bit subdued without his Gokudo released, who at least look very useful.

He also has tempo issues, which  throw a lot of people (You see a lot of games that seem decided by turn 3 so get called at that point. I generally doubt they are that decided, but if both players are happy its up to them). Yan lo takes game time to get up to strength, and you need to realise that and realise that he has strong turns 4 and 5 that have the potential to counter a weaker turn 1 and 2.

If anything, Yan Lo has got weaker after the errata, so go forth and enjoy.

33 minutes ago, Adran said: