Marcus?!?

Mxbedlam

Hey everyone, I know he isn't the best master in the faction but someone has to be running Marcus somewhere.  He seems fun and everything in his keyword is fast and killy. Plus Inhuman Reflexes on Cerberus seems like a huge middle finger to your opponent. What is your Marcus tech and when are you running him? 

The Arcanists thread on him mentions using him in Neverborn several times - worth a read.

The general consensus there is he's better in blue, but I've seen several mentions of him just having to play differently in purple (Soulstone cache seems to be a crutch all Arcanist players rely on with Marcus).

I keep seeing players mention that they've played against Neverborn Marcus, but never see the Marcus players report on the battle's...

(I'm a complete beginner, so reading what I can!)

I am also waiting to see if any marcus experts emerge, I was briefly interested in him but 1. the fact i would have to buy so many new models (arcanist beasts and swampfiend keyword stuff, since I've avoided playing zoraida) and 2. Neverborn already has a lot of murder potential with the models I already own. 

At the same time the flexibility of the upgrades system and having so many swift and nasty minions can't be all bad, so I am sure there's a way to make him competitive... right?

He's not super bad. I'll play a few games every now and then with him.  Having inhuman ref. In 2 then feather wings on 2. That's 4 butterfly jumps.  Ferdinand Vogel  is fun. Take 2 sabers give them ir. I use cojo to toss Marcus where he needs to go.  Give jackalope a ton of mutations and keep him next to Marcus.  Marcus can shift damage and jackalope can keep coming back.  Also they've got the card draw with Marcus kinda fixed... kinda.  Keep miranda herself to heal.  Only shift her if it's late.  But he's a fun master but I hardly ever win with him... he just needs something a little more...