The Arcane Effigy/Emissary

archivista

Hey, Arcanists! I'm pretty new to game, and have gotten my toes into a few different factions by picking crews with badass women (Colette and Guild's Nellie first, but I'm looking at Raspi, Toni, etc). While trying to find enough models to fill out a crew, I picked up the Arcane Fate box.

Question: What is a good use of the box? I've tried running effigy, which got murdered before it could upgrade, and another game saw my emissary get slaughtered by the Neverborn's Teddy (dat Flurry... UGH.) Do any of you guys run these units? If so, with who, and in what capacity?

Thanks. ♥️

I might hire the Effigy if I feel a pressing need for condition removal.

I'm a big fan of the bull. I use it as a standalone beater. So long as he kicks some butt he's done his job. Often with Diesel Engine. Concealment is always useful. +dmg flip is great once you realise that the Bull has 2" engagement (more than majority models in the game) and can charge multiple times per activation, with a 3/4/6 track. Then you add in 3" 'discard to cheat' aura.

Downside is that it's really expensive, it's df5, it only has 2ap to do stuff with. But I've been happy with him. Maybe don't bring him against charge immune crews though.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

The effigy is a fairly durable 4 ss model. Its aura of discard to cheat is pretty useful if you are playing a crew that bunches up and against a short ranged crew (So it affects multiple models). I oftyen look to hiring it just as a cheap body.  Condition removal can be very useful, but that might depend on who you are facing.

Personally I don't look to upgrade my effigy to an emissary, I find it is too much of a tempo hit (you spend the early game trying to keep it safe rather than doing what you would normally want it to do). Others may well play it differently.