Skill Selection in Chargen

Darq

When selecting skills in Steps 4 and 6, are the ranks cumulative or can the skills only be selected once?

Examples:

1) In step 4 I draw an Ace of Rams, giving me 3, 3, 2, 1. Could I select Pistol 2 and pistol 3 giving me Pistol 5? (Are the selections cumulative in a step?)

2) If I select Pistol 3 in step 4, Can I select Pistol 2 in step 6 giving me Pistol 5 (Are the selections cumulative across steps?)

Guidance appreciated!

30 minutes ago, Slaphammer said:

I'm a noob and have only made one character so far, but my impression is that (1) you can't choose the same skill twice and (2) you can't choose a skill in step 6 that you chose in step 4.  So at the end you should have a wide variety of skills instead of a small number of highly ranked skills.

This is my understanding. If 5 is the highest you could ever hope to have in a skill it wouldn't really make sense to be able to start off with that strong an ability in one. A Peon shouldn't be able to get a higher flip than a Master.

That said, everything in every game system could have home-brewed rules adjustments. If your Fatemaster wants players to have the option of being one-trick ponies then that is fine, just be ready to have a lot of failures when doing anything aside from using your pistols.

2. No, you can't. Root skills are skills the parents of the Fated decided for him/her to learn, and Endeavor skills are his/her own things (and "The values provided by this card can be assigned to any of the Skills presented in this book (see Chapter 5) that the character does not already possess").

And I definitely sure that skills values are not cumulative at step 4 because there is no permission for them to be that way.

• Agree 1