Arcanists Reputation

TeaCrusader

So.. I'm basically new to the game as of 3e, and I haven't really been able to discover a local meta so I've been getting by playing with my housemates only.

However I've been skulking the forums, and I've started listening to some of the Third Floor Wars podcast... and I'm getting the impression that Arcanists don't have the best reputation in the community..?

I mostly wanted to ask about that.. I get the impression that SoulStone Miners and Steam Arachnid Swarms are a source of some of the animocity but.. well every faction has some stand out models from what i've seen... So I doubt that's the whole story...

Of course it could just be people being influenced by the fact that the host of third floor wars seems to bring up a personal dislike for Arcanists frequently..? I dunno. mostly I'm curious.

Each group usually has the most hated faction, often because the strongest local player plays that faction. 

I think the arcanist hate is a bit of an in joke for that podcast. Towards the end of m2e Sandeep was over the average curve in strength so some of that perception might persist but m3e hasn't really been out long enough for most players to even figure out the really sick combos. 

• Like 1
  • Agree 2

Hatters gonna hate! All factions are playable and the few unbalanced models and masters across all factions will get ajusted over time. Arcanist is in a good spot competitively right now, but that shouldn't be the reason to pick or not pick this faction.

Settle for the one that fits you. Arcanist has a lot of different playstiles and crews. If these appeal to you more than the ones in the other factions, that's a good reason to pick the faction.

• Like 1

13 minutes ago, Ogid said: