Jump to content
  • 0
Sharpedge

Empire Artillery Team and Line of Sight

Question

The latest FAQ means that the King's Empire Artillery Team :ranged actions do not require LOS. Huzzah!

However, the updated card does not say "this action ignores cover" like, for example, the Abyssinian Flare Gun prototype asset.

My question, therefore, is - do we still draw sight lines to the target to determine whether it has cover OR does the fact that it does not require LOS mean that we do not need to draw sight lines and therefore cover is ignored?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
2 hours ago, retnab said:

Cover is still a thing it deals with unfortunately.

Yeah I'm thinking that's probably going to be the consensus. I've heard the opposite opinion but there are a number of Aby assets that mention both cover and LOS. So either the Arty team not mentioning cover is an oversight or a design choice.

Still not sure it's going to be viable with an effective Av of 1 on that big 'ole gun.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 10/3/2019 at 5:16 PM, Sharpedge said:

Yeah I'm thinking that's probably going to be the consensus. I've heard the opposite opinion but there are a number of Aby assets that mention both cover and LOS. So either the Arty team not mentioning cover is an oversight or a design choice.

Still not sure it's going to be viable with an effective Av of 1 on that big 'ole gun.

At cover rule said, that unit gain cover if one of line of sight blocked. But if you not require los - it cannot be blocked by anything. Same with titan.

I think, that additional "ignore cover" was added for abilities witch will give you permanent cover at some area.

At another hand, if our guns really suffer from cover - it is useless again, because at this situation it can try to hit titans and no any another target.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 11/20/2019 at 10:23 PM, Cactus3D said:

At cover rule said, that unit gain cover if one of line of sight blocked. But if you not require los - it cannot be blocked by anything. Same with titan.

I think, that additional "ignore cover" was added for abilities witch will give you permanent cover at some area.

At another hand, if our guns really suffer from cover - it is useless again, because at this situation it can try to hit titans and no any another target.

Cover rules don't say "one line of sight blocked", they say "one sight line" blocked.  That's an important distinction.   Despite the fact that the Artillery Team doesn't need Line of Sight, it still draws Sight Lines to the target (as all attacks do), which means cover still applies.

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information