Measuring tips?

Maniacal_cackle

I have an embarrassingly simple question.

I'm a bit clumsy and struggle with measuring at times. Fitting the tape measures in (especially making sure I'm measuring at the base rather than birds eye view) often results in me bumping models. Using a bird's eye view often has me misestimate distances. I think I lack some of the fine motor skills most tabletop gamers have (my painting is also atrocious).

It has been fine in casual games, but I have a tournament coming up and want to hold myself to a reasonable measuring standard. And also don't want to waste loads of time fiddling with measurement, so want to be quick, efficient, and accurate all at once.

So I have two questions:

1. What are the best tools for the job?

My main measuring tape is far too big I think. I've been thinking of measuring and cutting some pieces of string at 2/3/4/5/6/7 inches (and using masking tape to label them). I've also heard about widgets?

2. Any links to measuring technique videos?

It'd be helpful if I could see some best practice.

Thanks!

How much money do you want to throw around? :D

There are a wealth of widget-style measuring tools and specific measuring sticks out there.  ranging from "kind of sensibly priced" to "people buy these things?!?"

I get by on a single 1x2x3x5 widget and a tape measure along with the occasional proxy, but for stuff like Guild Ball (less terrain in the way, more aggressive about perfect measuring) I have a few widgets to cover common lengths and pull out the tape measure only in emergencies.

Regarding your second question, the video is not specifically Malifaux (or tape measure) related, but it's perfect for this question and shows a lot of good habits to get in, even if using a tape.

• Thanks 3