New player - does the cultural appropriation bother anyone else?

DarrenG

Hey all.

I'm fairly new to Malifaux. It used to be rather big around our area but died off quite a bit until 3rd ed. Now it's having a bit of a revival and I was wanting to jump onboard. I picked out a faction, outcasts, and have got a few models.

I was just wondering if anybody else was kinda put off by the way that 'Eastern'-themed models are depicted in the game? It does seem that a rather large number of pretty much any faction, especially the Ten Thunders but also Ressurrectionists and Arcanists, seem to have a LOT of fetishised exoticism with how it approaches characters from other cultures.

It's not so much that it's not thematically appropriate and so on, and most of the models are tasteful (with a few exceptions), but a lot of it does border on or push across the line of appropriating other cultures for use in a game. I won't lie, when I look at models like Wong I kinda do feel quite a lot of discomfort.

I'm definitely not looking to start an argument or cause a flame war here or anything, but I'm curious if I'm the only person who feels this way and, if not, how you deal with this in your games? Do you just, like, turn a blind eye to it?

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1
  • Agree 1
  • Respectfully Disagree 31

5 minutes ago, AndreyF said:

I wonder if we shall do something about culturally appropriating arabic numbers? Is it appropriate to use them in Malifaux? Also, shall we consider this case as inappropriate in relation of arabs or hindu, as they are were earlier adopters of those numbers?

all europeans should go back to roman numerals
others should stop using numbers at all

suppose it's the only fair decision 

• Agree 1