Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
poulpox

Pushes over obstacles

Question

Hi all!

So I'm a little confused about Pushes in m3e: the rule mentions a Pushed model will stop when in contact with another model or impassable terrain. This would suggest that if the terrain is not Impassable (like a fence that is climbable), the Push would not end?

However, listening to a podcast with the game designer, they specifically mentioned they wanted to stop players from charging over fences. 

So. I'm a little confused. Am I reading things wrong? 

Thanks for your insight!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Impassible and climbable are different, but related, concepts.  Impassible means you can't go through it, while climbable means you can go over it.

So you can't charge *through* the fence because it's impassible.  You could walk *over* it by using it's climbable trait though.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
57 minutes ago, Clement said:

Impassible and climbable are different, but related, concepts.  Impassible means you can't go through it, while climbable means you can go over it.

So you can't charge *through* the fence because it's impassible.  You could walk *over* it by using it's climbable trait though.

Thanks Clement, that makes sense. Also I just saw that p14 highlights in bold that only the Walk action can be used to move vertically. Sorted!

Thanks!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As with all terrain questions, it depends on how you defined it at the beginning. If you call your fences ht 1 impassable and climbable you can't charge. If you just called them severe then you can charge. You can't climb during a push. If you have a ht 1 fence that is climbable but not impassable you could just walk straight through it without having to climb. 

EDIT

That'll teach me to answer without checking the rules. Thanks Scoffer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, Adran said:

 If you have a ht 1 fence that is climbable but not impassable you could just walk straight through it without having to climb. 

The very definition of Climbable terrain in the Rulebook (p37) doesn't allow to walk through it:

Quote

Models may not move through Climbable Terrain but they may move across its top¸often a roof and may move vertically up and down along its sides

 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...