Youku Advice

Takoa

Hey all,

I always seem to enjoy the aesthetic and story of control master's, so I've dived headlong into Youku. The problem is, I don't really see good ways to protect against killy crews like Nephalim, and the like. Planning on getting a game in tomorrow, but was wondering if anyone had any tips to try and not get destroyed by turn 2 by aggressive masters.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Yes, I realized that Bunraku would mostly be my scheme runners, though I thought I might need Hinamatsu for potential deterrent against rushing Youku down. Possibly giving her the upgrade that gives her challenge. Although if you have tips for movement or particular things to focus on against teams like Nekima, Lady J, Parker, etc, I'm all ears.

I'm still learning the game, so this comes from a rookie who also like the mechanics of this keyword; but I hope you find these general advices useful:

The first thing is learning about the other guys "threat range" (including pushes from other models). You don't want to get attacked by 2 or 3 actions from a master like LadyJ or Nekima, keep your distance so they have to rush you.

Use your tricks to engage in your own terms: Lure a dangerous activated model; use and abuse the Distracted and attack his hand with Chiyo and Youko (mind Youko "we own you" may use the bonus ability; check if there are models with abilities like consume that may be heavily abused). A rusher looks less scary with Slow, Distracted +3 and without cards. If they have cheap supports who may end conditions, make them a priority when they get near; you need the debuffs badly. Also don't be afraid to engage an overextended model. Youko creed doesn't look bad in a straight fight; models like Kunoichi, Hinamatsu or the Kabuki hit hard.