Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
MajorUndead

Frenzy post errata

Recommended Posts

So, the Frenzy got :

  • No longer able to use the healing magic on the ancient relics of malifaux more than once (but I guess it was to be expected, it was weird to have the frenzy be the greatest support/healer ever)
    • Though now the units brought back into game come with a reinforcement token, so this nerf is mitigated a bit
  • Melee attack got +1 strength, and in glory it has a new trigger on Ram to get piercing
    • Strength 4 is quite nice, and having 3 triggers on the means you'll be able to get one extra effect pretty often
  • Shark tooth necklace : The ability to get a free suit (on top of the previous existing effect of the asset) if the fireteam has 2 other Frenzy fireteam at 3".
    • This one seems very very nice. You'll be able to reliably get the bonus attack on Nipping at their heels (trigger in glory), be able to have 1 or 2 triggers on the melee attack (get a reinforcement token so you can have enough to discard & do the attack again, get the piercing on tough targets)

The Frenzy is going to be very scary on the table now I think. You'll really want to kill at least one so they don't get the bonus suit on their actions.

What do you all think?

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Isn't the frenzy now able to attack as many times as it succeeds, declaring The feeding trigger and discarding the reinforcement token to attack again ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, bedjy said:

Isn't the frenzy now able to attack as many times as it succeeds, declaring The feeding trigger and discarding the reinforcement token to attack again ?

Would the rule against additional actions generating their own additional actions get in the way?  Or are we assuming that because the additional action isn't being made *by the action itself* it doesn't count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, bedjy said:

Isn't the frenzy now able to attack as many times as it succeeds, declaring The feeding trigger and discarding the reinforcement token to attack again ?

There's still the rule:

Quote

ADDITIONAL ACTIONS

Some Actions (or their Triggers) are capable of generating additional Actions.

If a Fireteam is unable to take an additional Action (perhaps because there are no targets within range), the additional Action is ignored.

As a further restriction, additional Actions cannot create additional Actions of their own. If they would do so, any subsequent additional Actions are ignored.

Same situation as before the card errata.  

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/29/2019 at 3:55 AM, MajorUndead said:

You'll really want to kill at least one so they don't get the bonus suit on their actions.

What do you all think?

I think this is a reason to still take Relics of Ancient Malifaux on them.  Since they gain SO MUCH for being at full strength and resummoning 2 can give you 4 attacks for the cost of one action that you would likely want to use anyway. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Stadon said:

I think this is a reason to still take Relics of Ancient Malifaux on them.  Since they gain SO MUCH for being at full strength and resummoning 2 can give you 4 attacks for the cost of one action that you would likely want to use anyway. 

I agree that relics is still a good choice for them. Being at full strength is very importantL
Plus, when in glory, when they reinforce, the new fireteam(s) can make a :ToS-Melee: action (which enables them to still act even though you've reinforced during their activation).
Though I'd say that if you are playing a 2 commander game, having relics on the stormsiren & having her reinforce the Frenzy might be better (you get the :ToS-Melee:action from the reinforcement, and then since the reinforcement was not during the Frenzy's activation, the newly arrived fireteam can still act in their activation)

  • Agree 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information