New Bayou - possible Brewmaster

iCreed

Hey all, not sure if this is the right place or not to ask.

Im looking to get into Malifaux, I looked at 2e but really looking to buy in with 3e coming.

Im drawn to the Brewmaster & Whiskey Golem, but have 0 knowledge about how the game plays and work and was wondering for any tips and advice?

Thanks

Hi, Welcome!

In a nutsell: This is a skirmish game, you gain points by completing schemes and strategies, the player with more points at the end of 5 turns win the game.

Important points: Both players take turns to activate models (it's not the typical "I move all my dudes, then I go for a beer while you move yours"), you make your list after knowing the schemes and strategies and the enemy leader (so having a few extra model to being able to adapt your list is necessary).

Being a newbie myself, what I did: 

• Read the rulebook, at least twice (you can download it from wyrd's webpage)
  • Download all the M3e cards (again form wyrd's webpage), some are missing but the majority are there. In the wyrd's webpage you can check the creed members for each keyword (click in each master)
  • If you are very interested in a creed with cards missing, this page can help: https://m3e-crew-builder.herokuapp.com/
  • Put all stat cards (but deadhand and special edition cards) in one folder. Use the each master's keyword as a filter to get all model with said keyword (you can copy them into a new folder or just browse them); check all keywords and see which ones fit you better (both aestesically and mechanically). Take this step easy, depending on your free time it can take days or weeks.
  • Choose your master and spend a few bucks getting the core box + 1 or 2 boxes to get some options. Get the one you like the most, but be sure you also like the faction because you will probably get at least 1 or 2 extra masters from that faction to have some flexibility.