Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
OctaBit

Shockwaves and incorporeal

Question

Bit of a rules question that keeps coming up. So incorporeal reduces damage from attacks. Shockwaves cause a mv simple duel for the model. Since it's a simple duel and not an opposed duel some people are arguing that the damage isn't from an attack action. Other people are arguing that the shockwave markers are made as a result of the attack action so they should be reduced. Who's right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 6

Note that Shockwaves are in the same section of the rules, Area Effects, that Blasts, Auras and Pulses are.

16 minutes ago, OctaBit said:

Since it's a simple duel and not an opposed duel some people are arguing that the damage isn't from an attack action.

What's their argument that being opposed has anything to do with anything?

Really, the most direct place where it's spelled out that the rules don't care what the damage is the killing section:

Quote

Killed models are always considered to be killed by the model that generated the Action or Ability that killed them (as well as by that model’s Crew). If a model is killed by another effect (such as a Condition or Hazardous Terrain), it is not considered to have been killed by any player, model, or Crew.

That's where the division of causality is.

The shockwave is specified by an action, so whatever results from that shockwave are the result of the action.  If the action in question is an Attack Action, then the shockwave is the product of an Attack Action and so is its damage.

Note that the reason why you see pretty much every single Shockwave-generating attack with an Asterisk in the Rest column is because of this sentence:

Quote

An Action with a Resist is an Attack Action. An Action without a Resist is a Tactical Action.

They put the asterisk in the listing so it fits the definition of an attack, so it goes in the Attack Actions section.

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 4

Shockwaves are listed on the card in the attack action section.

Gamble your life is listed on the card in the tactical action section.

Incorporeal will reduce damage from Attack actions. 

 

Shockwaves are attack actions so will be reduced by incorporeal. Gamble you life is a tactical action so Incorporeal will not reduce its damage. 

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 8/11/2019 at 9:09 AM, solkan said:
  Quote

An Action with a Resist is an Attack Action. An Action without a Resist is a Tactical Action.

What are you quoting? 

Pg. 10 has something similar but with no reference to Attack or Tactical.

Quote

Pg. 10

If a duel doesn’t have a Resist stat, it is a simple duel. 
If a duel has a Resist stat, then it is an opposed duel. 

NVM, found it on pg. 22

Edited by Thimblesage
Correction

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

@solkan Would you mind weighing in on Gamble Your Life?

 

This action does NOT have a Resist and is listed as a Tactical Action. How does Incorporeal interact?

Quote

Gamble Your Life

Rg: 6"          Stat: 6t          Rst: -          TN: 10
Enemy only. This model and the target both flip over the top card of their Fate Deck, which cannot be Cheated. The model with the lowest value flipped card (or the target, in the case of a tie) suffers 3/4/5 damage.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...