Arachnids

MrPieChee

Hi all,

I'm new to Malifaux, planning on starting as the m3e book is released.

I really like the Arachnid models, and was looking at making an Arcanist crew around them. With Ramos part of dead mans hand, whats a good alternative?

I was thinking about Colette since I want to make a puppet crew as well. Several Mannequin's,  mecharachnids, and steam arachnids. The mannequins could make use of the extra movement to get into position, and then the mech's can swap places where needed. Mannaquins can also provide scrap markers for boosts to arachnids.

I quite like Marcus too, and as hes a dual master with Neverborn, he might also work well for me... (plus Scorpius doesn't cost extra with him)

(I've downloaded the M2E rulebook, but mostly been using the m3e crew builder for ideas)

They all are in keyword for Hoffman and he’s finally dual faction in the new edition.  So you could use Hoffman instead of Ramos and have a construct centered crew that way.

Granted, all the spiders are versatile, so for Arcanists it’s more a question of “Do I want to use them?” than anything.

Additionally, while Ramos is DMH, you can absolutely still play him. He is not allowed in certain tournaments, but if you're just starting out that may not really be an issue. Ramos is my first love, and as long as there are rules for him, I'll be playing him, and all his many legged mechanical friends

• Like 3

Spiders fit anywhere you need a cheap, somewhat durable model (single arachnid) or stronger quick Onslaught model to attack extra times per turn (swarm—bonus fun points with Diesel Engine for crazy high mobility). Mecharachnids are a super situational counter-pick hire, but Precise is such a good tool against layered defensive tech (*cough*Ironsides* *cough*Fitzsimmons*) that I can be happy with them being niche.