Jump to content
MrDeathTrout

Creative Salvage

Recommended Posts

Quote

Creative Salvage: Enemy models killed by this model Drop a Scrap Marker in addition to any other Markers Dropped.

If a model doesn't drop any markers does Creative Salvage still drop a marker?  I'd say yes, but I can see the argument that since the killed model isn't dropping any markers their is nothing for it to be in addition to.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, MrDeathTrout said:

If a model doesn't drop any markers does Creative Salvage still drop a marker?  I'd say yes, but I can see the argument that since the killed model isn't dropping any markers their is nothing for it to be in addition to.

Creative Salvage says that you drop an extra marker.  That contradicts the effects that say no markers are dropped.  The result should be no markers getting dropped.  

Because of the conflict resolution rules (Breaking the Rules):

Quote

If two special rules directly contradict each other, rules that prevent something from happening take precedent over rules that allow something to happen.

 

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Creative Salvage: Enemy models killed by this model Drop a Scrap Marker in addition to any other Markers Dropped.
  • Demise (Explosive +2): After this model is killed, models within p2 suffer +2 damage. This model does not Drop any Markers when killed.

As much as I'd like to say Creative Salvage gets around it, at least in this example I think the "in addition to any other Markers" bit does mean that if no markers are placed the bonus ones are also not placed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, retnab said:
  • Creative Salvage: Enemy models killed by this model Drop a Scrap Marker in addition to any other Markers Dropped.
  • Demise (Explosive +2): After this model is killed, models within p2 suffer +2 damage. This model does not Drop any Markers when killed.

As much as I'd like to say Creative Salvage gets around it, at least in this example I think the "in addition to any other Markers" bit does mean that if no markers are placed the bonus ones are also not placed.

@retnab If two special rules directly contradict each other, rules that prevent something from happening take precedent over rules that allow something to happen.

On the subject, I don't see any reason to not drop a marker, that "in addition to" is just there to clarify that several markers can be dropped by the killed model.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, bedjy said:

@retnab If two special rules directly contradict each other, rules that prevent something from happening take precedent over rules that allow something to happen.

On the subject, I don't see any reason to not drop a marker, that "in addition to" is just there to clarify that several markers can be dropped by the killed model.

The Demise (explosive +2) has the rule that the model doesn't drop markers when killed.

This doesn't answer the question when its related to a model that just has no rules to drop markers (as opposed to rules to not drop markers) such as the void wretches (who aren't living, undead, beast or constructs), which I think constructive salvage would drop a scrap from.

  • Agree 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Adran said:

This doesn't answer the question when its related to a model that just has no rules to drop markers (as opposed to rules to not drop markers) such as the void wretches (who aren't living, undead, beast or constructs), which I think constructive salvage would drop a scrap from.

Agreed, I see that similar to attacks that don't normally deal damage still being affected by +1 damage effects, so in this case a Void Wretch killed by a CS model would drop 0+1 markers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, bedjy said:

@retnab If two special rules directly contradict each other, rules that prevent something from happening take precedent over rules that allow something to happen.

On the subject, I don't see any reason to not drop a marker, that "in addition to" is just there to clarify that several markers can be dropped by the killed model.

I asked about that interaction specifically a month or two ago and the consensus was that no markers would be dropped

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Mycellanious said:

I asked about that interaction specifically a month or two ago and the consensus was that no markers would be dropped

 

That's different. The question here is for models that aren't living, undead, beasts or constructs. Not for models that have some ability that stop them from dropping any markers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...