Jump to content
Mycellanious

Magnetism and scrap markers

Recommended Posts

If a model with Mv 4 is closer than 4 inches from a scrap marker and uses Magnetism to push towards a marker, does the model stop in b2b or does it overlap the marker? If the model were 0, 1, or 2 inches away, would it push the full 4 inches and overshoot the marker?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • MEASURING
  • [...] Measurement is almost always done horizontally from the closest point on the base of the object in question. If a player is measuring to an object, they measure to the closest point on the base of the target. If there is a vertical element, that distance is added to the distance, minus the lower object’s Size or Height (to a minimum of 0). Many times, a player will need to determine if an object is in range of another. This is referring to the distance between the two objects. An object is within range if any portion of that object’s base is at that distance or closer. Any effect that references an object being “within” a distance is talking about range. [...] Two objects are said to be in base contact with each other if their bases are physically touching (edge to edge or overlapping). A model is never considered to be in base contact with itself.
  • Toward and Away
  • If something is moving “toward” an object, it must move toward the center of that object. If something is moving “away” from an object, it must move away from the center of that object. [...] Something moving toward an object cannot move further from that object at any point during its movement, even if doing so would ultimately bring it closer to the object at the end of its movement. Similarly, something moving away from an object cannot move closer to that object at any point during its movement, even if doing so would ultimately leave it further from the object at the end of its movement.

So as I understand it, you would move until the model's base edge is touching the center of the marker (though it feels more right to me for it to move until the model's center is over the marker's center but that's not as per the rules above).  But either way it couldn't keep moving past it if it had excess movement

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Moving until the model's edge reaches the center of the object at least ends up being reasonable for terrain.  Better that than stopping at the terrain boundary.

But I agree with retnab that the definition in "Toward and Away" means that the rules don't need to say "up to" in order to prevent overshooting.  The instruction that the model can't move further from the object prevents it overshooting.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...