Terrain layout. How to do it right?

PetterJhon

Hello.

I'm new to Malifaux and I want to build some papercraft terrain. I can dish out some houses/carts/barrels/etc. but the thing that bothers me is how I actually place them on the table. What is good "map design" for Malifaux?

Obviously, some crews prefer open spaces, some prefer narrow mazes, so you have to balance these aspects on a not that huge 3x3 ft board. You also have to consider objectives and how easy it is to get to them and how exposed are you when you get there. Other noteworthy factor is how easy it is to get out of deployment zones without feeling like you're standing with your pants down, or feeling that map dictates you only one option on how to proceed.

I also want my board to have some kind of believable theme: if it's a town it should feel like a town and not just a bunch of random blocks thrown in random places.

I seek advice from experienced players:

What do you consider a good terrain layout from gameplay perspective?

What are common mistakes/bad decisions you can make when placing terrain?

Examples of awesome layouts you've played on?

Are there any guides/materials I can read to get the answers I seek?

I could have sworn there was a topic on this just a few days ago. I wrote a long reply for that one so this will be shorter: