Jump to content
Kaiser Senpai

Grammar/Spelling Thread

Recommended Posts

3.22 Rulebook wording suggestions:

  • Pg 4, Movement: This is the distance (in inchles) that a model may move when it takes Actions such as Walk or Charge.
  • Pg 6, Upgrade Restrictions: [Should be renamed Upgrade Limitations to match all other wording]
  • Pg 8, Revealing Cards: If multiple cards are revealed from a player's Fate Deck simultaneously, they are placed back on top of that Fate Deck without changing their order.
  • Pg 8, Revealing Cards: If an effect allows a player to “look at” a card, it is treated as revealing the card.  However, the card is only shown to the player “looking at” it.
  • Pg 9, Cheating Fate: Additionally, if a player flipped the Red Joker on an opposed duel (see page @@), their opponent cannot Cheat Fate on their own flip.
  • Pg 10, Modify the Duel: If both models can use Soulstones, the attacker declares whether they will use a Soulstone first.
  • Pg 11, Rasputina vs. Pandora: [Raspy has Ruthless and wouldn't take the Terrifying test.  Maybe swap her out for Parker or Ophelia or someone?]
  • Pg 20, Draw Cards: Players with fewer cards in hand than their maximum size (which is normally 6) draw cards until they reach that number of cards.
  • Pg 21, Select Model: No model may Activate more than once in a Turn.  If the Active player does not have any more models to Activate, skip to Step D.
  • Pg 21, Check for End of Game: These "end of game" Victory Points are still considered to be scored during the Turn, so a player may not score the "end of game" Victory Points and the "reveal" Victory Points of a Scheme during the same turn.
  • Pgs 22 & 29, Assist: Target other friendly model within 2" and LoS lowers the value of its Burning, Distracted, or Injured Condition by 1/2/3. [making it read like a normal action and making both read the same]
  • Pg 23, X only: This effect can only be declared if the target of this Action has the X Characteristic, Keyword, or Name.
  • Pg 25, Markers and Killed Models: If a model with Construct and another non-Versatile Characteristic is killed, its controller only Drops one Marker this way, chosen by the model's controller.
  • Pg 30, Auras: If a model would be affected by multiple Auras of the same name (i.e., if the Aura would change its game state in some way), then it is only affected by one such Aura of its controller's choice. [The affected model's controller, or the model with the Aura's controller?  Unclear, example below it doesn't clarify]
  • Pg 36, Waldo's Box: On the other hand, Concealment comes directly from Concealing Terrain and other game effects like Vent Steam[To match the wording with Cover]
  • Pg 37, Concealing: When drawing sight lines, a model in Concealing Terrain may ignore that terrain's Concealing trait if any single sight line drawn between the two objects passes through no more than 1" of that terrain.
  • Pg 37, Height X (or Ht X): [Bullet point should be a little to the left to match the others, it currently looks like a sub-bullet to Hazardous Terrain]
  • Pg 41, Wedge Deployment: A player will deploy in a wedge starting 12" from the table edge at its furthest point and sweeping back to the corners, with the opponent deploying opposite.  [Also, for the other Deployment examples, they can all end with "with the opponent deploying opposite" to keep them all the same]
  • Pg 41, Friendly: When friendly is applied to a physical part of the table, it means the table half with your Deployment Zone. [same with Enemy]
  • Pg 42, Choose Faction and Leader: Each player simultaneously chooses a Faction for their Crew and announces it to their opponent (Dead Man's Hand is not a Faction and cannot be declared as such).
  • Pg 43, Reveal Crews: This reveal shows all aspects of the Crew, including the models chosen, their Titles (if any), and any Upgrades.
  • Pg 43, Dead Man's Hand: A few characters who have left the word of Malifaux (due to death, imprisonment, etc.) still exist in the game in the form of Dead Man's Hand (DMH) models.
  • Pg 44, Strategies: Remember, no Victory Points can be scored on the first Turn, and models with the Insignificant Ability are ignored for the purposes of Strategies and Schemes in every way. [Alternative wording: in any way / by both players]
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mech Rider's Revelation needs something like "The model does not count as having Activated" so that if you choose someone who hasn't gone you're not spending their real activation.

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All Effigy's Before and After should say "This model cannot be hired into a Crew containing an Emissary of Fate model."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 22 rulebook, interact, it says " drop a scheme marker......and not within 4" of another friendly scheme marker"

Should be "drop a friendly scheme marker.....and not within 4" of another friendly scheme marker "

Otherwise with obey implications and other, one could argue that can drop an enemy scheme marker. (Or, if the intent is to allow to drop enemy scheme markers, just leave as it is)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/8/2019 at 11:39 AM, filch4570 said:

High River Monk, Flaming Punch, Ram Trigger - Aggressive Chi is spelled incorrectly.

High River Monk, Chi Blast, Ram Trigger - Aggressive Chi is spelled incorrectly.

High River Monk, Risky Manuever - Maneuver is spelled incorrectly.

These still appear on the High River Monk cards as of the 3.22.19 update.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Raging_Iggy said:

Page 22 rulebook, interact, it says " drop a scheme marker......and not within 4" of another friendly scheme marker"

Should be "drop a friendly scheme marker.....and not within 4" of another friendly scheme marker "

Otherwise with obey implications and other, one could argue that can drop an enemy scheme marker. (Or, if the intent is to allow to drop enemy scheme markers, just leave as it is)

From M3E Markers:  When a model Drops a Marker, it is friendly to the Crew controlling the model that Dropped it. (Emphasis added)

Adding the word “friendly” to the action doesn’t change the situation.  If you drop a marker, you drop a marker friendly to the controller not the owner.  

Disclaimer:  This is a change from M2E, which considers control irrelevant:

M2E:  “This Scheme Marker is always considered friendly to the crew of the model that placed it, regardless of who controlled the Interact Action.”

 

  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Asura Roten, Come to Me: "When resolving, place the Summoned model into base contact with any table edge, instead of this model."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Von Schtook, A Lesson in Biology: "Then, remove all Corpse and Scrap Markers within :new-Pulse:2 of the target."

Grave Golem, Demise (Immortal Soil): "After this model is killed, if it is not Buried, it Heals 4 and is Buried."

Grave Golem, Clinging Dead: p2 should be :new-Pulse:2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, TheBjorn said:

Gunsmith - confusing that they have range 20 but effectively cant shoot anythin beyond 17 with RJ.

Other models with the action can reach the full range

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Obey-like effects and charges.

Since charges and the attack action are independent actions that come one after the other, right now it's not clear whenever when you obey an enemy to charge, do you also control the attack or just the push? What about triggers that come from it?

 

Or am I overcomplicating things and it's clear?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
58 minutes ago, trikk said:

Obey-like effects and charges.

Since charges and the attack action are independent actions that come one after the other, right now it's not clear whenever when you obey an enemy to charge, do you also control the attack or just the push? What about triggers that come from it?

Second to last paragraph, last sentence (the one about resources) of Friendly, Enemy and Control:

”If a controlled Action generates additional Actions, the controlling player controls the generated Action, as well.”

Triggers are a part of actions, just like duels are.

  • Thanks 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On rule book p11 there's a Rasputina vs. Pandora example. The first paragraph has Rasputina take a terrifying duel due the Pandora's terrifying ability. Rasputina has ruthless so ignores this.

Maybe use another model in the example that doesn't have ruthless and change the action to suit.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zoraida - Hex: If the target has an Attached Voodoo Upgrade...
Voodoo Doll - Unbound: If this model is killed, discard all Voodoo Upgrades...
Both should read Voodoo Curse Upgrade.

Voodoo Curse - "That Doesn't Look Like MeÖ"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, Phinn said:

Zoraida - Hex: If the target has an Attached Voodoo Upgrade...
Voodoo Doll - Unbound: If this model is killed, discard all Voodoo Upgrades...
Both should read Voodoo Curse Upgrade.

Voodoo Curse - "That Doesn't Look Like MeÖ"

Is the upgrade special(voodoo) or special(voodoo curse)? If the first it is worded correctly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It used to be Special (Voodoo Curse) but I checked the last update and it actually reads Special (Voodoo) now, @santaclaws01. Should have checked properly before posting :) My bad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 27:

Quote

Enhance a Duel: Before any cards are flipped in a duel, a model that can use Soulstones may spend a single Soulstone to add a + to its flip or to add a suit of
its choice to its final duel total. If both models involved in the duel can use Soulstones, the attacker declares its Soulstone use (or lack of use) first.

Page 35:

Quote

C.2,d.I:   Modify Th e Duel with Soulstones, Abilities, or other game effects (Active player first).

 

Shouldn't these be the same?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Mkwone said:

Rat catchers rat snack ability seems wrong. both statements are the same but with different results.

121942952_Screenshot_20190404-064933_AdobeAcrobat.thumb.jpg.08c308defde2ddac68f5f91c006483d1.jpg

The part in Italics is optional (because it says you may do it). So you have 2 outcomes, if you kill a friendly vermin model you heal 2 and draw a card, if you didn't kill a friendly vermin you heal 1.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The version 3.22.19 Arcanists Union Miner was a typo in the front of card Companion wording:

Companion: After a friendly model ends its Activation within of...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Specky said:

The version 3.22.19 Arcanists Union Miner was a typo in the front of card Companion wording:

Companion: After a friendly model ends its Activation within of...

Actually it looks like this typo is in every Companion and Accomplice ability in the Arcanist Stat PDF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't spell, and don't know if it should be impassable or impassible, but for the sake of easy searching, can we pick one and stick with it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Adran said:

I can't spell, and don't know if it should be impassable or impassible, but for the sake of easy searching, can we pick one and stick with it?

If you see "Impassible" anywhere, feel free to point that out. Impassible means "incapable of feeling pain," so Impassable is the word we want. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...