Is anyone actually beating Kings Empire?

Clement

I'm at kind of a loss right now.

We have 3 players locally (Kings Empire, Abyssinia, and Gibbering Hordes) and any time the Kings Empire army is in use, it wins.  By a comfortable margin.  It doesn't seem to matter who's playing it.  We could hand it to a total newbie to the game or even gaming in general, and it still grinds out in their favor.

We're currently playing 1 commander games and it's getting to the point where I'm just not interested in playing the game anymore.  I know if I hang back I'll get pinned down and shot to death, if i rush across the table I'm pretty sure I'll still get pinned down and shot to death since their firing ranges are so long.  KE army just happily sits at it's deployment zone edge basically running the table.

Has anyone had any kind of luck with them?  What kind of lists were you running?

KE's one of the easier factions to learn with, but they're not unstoppable. For the Hordes, don't forget that your tide pools give you cover so you can place them in ways that protect most of your army on their way in (and take Whelks, multiple units preferably, they really help with the pinning thing). For Abyssinia, you have the better stats overall so best you can do is move up into range and try to focus down one unit at a time. They'll outnumber you probably, but if you even those odds you'll have a better time (don't forget you should have the card and activation advantage too).

I've never lost against them, playing Hordes and Cult. KE definitely has a shallower learning curve than some of the others, but all factions are viable. Like Retnab said, with GH use cover/pools to your advantage, and bring Whelks if you have them. Storm Siren has an amazing Lure, which you can use to bring the food closer to your fishes.