Jump to content
  • 0
Razhem

Multiple reinforcement tokens

Question

Pretty much what the question says, can you spend múltiple reinforcement tokens at the start of the turn to reinforce more?

Can you spend múltiple reinforcement tikens when activatibg to flip multiple assets?

My reading tells me no to the first and yes to the second, but would like some clarification

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

1) No, "When a unit Reinforces, it discards one of its Reinforcement Tokens to add two models to the Fireteams in its unit."

2) RAW I think also no because of the singular language but I'm less confident about this one, "At any point during a unit's Activation, it may discard a Reinforcement Token to @ an attached Asset from its Disabled side to its Standard side.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
18 minutes ago, Razhem said:

Pretty much what the question says, can you spend múltiple reinforcement tokens at the start of the turn to reinforce more?

Can you spend múltiple reinforcement tikens when activatibg to flip multiple assets?

My reading tells me no to the first and yes to the second, but would like some clarification

That's my understanding as well.

When you reinforce, you're allowed to discard one token.  It's once per reinforcement, and you'd need more explicit permission to be able to choose the same unit multiple times.

For assets, it's the fact that you're allowed to do it at any time during the activation that's not putting a limit on the use.  I've run into the occasional person who's expecting the asset thing to be once per activation for consistency, but it feels like that's an over generalization.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, retnab said:

2) RAW I think also no because of the singular language but I'm less confident about this one, "At any point during a unit's Activation, it may discard a Reinforcement Token to @ an attached Asset from its Disabled side to its Standard side.

The problem with the singular in this use is things in English like "You can stop me at any time to ask a question."  In common use, that's not saying you only get one question.

So you get a situation where "Before or after taking an action" and "Before or after discarding a Tactics Token" are when you can discard that token.  At any of the possible timing points, you can discard a token, so as a result you can discard any number of tokens.

Just like how "After you flip a card, you may discard one Tactics Token to flip an additional card" is a limit of one per flip, but if you flip cards several times during an activation you can end up discarding more than one token.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
13 hours ago, retnab said:

2) RAW I think also no because of the singular language but I'm less confident about this one, "At any point during a unit's Activation, it may discard a Reinforcement Token to @ an attached Asset from its Disabled side to its Standard side.

I'm going with you on this one but adding "a single Reinforcement Token" or something similar would definitely make it less confusing if that, in fact, is the intent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Rereading Reinforcement, Shaken and Inspired, I have to change my stance to once in the activation since they are all worded very similarly and I'm pretty sure inspired and shaken can only be used once per duel.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×