Jump to content
jps

Timing for speckled crawlers

Recommended Posts

So please can you help clarify if these two actions happen at the same time and then the controlling player chooses the order:

1) Survival of the fittest - when a friendly gibbering hordes unit activates

2) Endless - when this unit activates 

Or if one specifically takes place before the other. 

Thanks. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They both happen in the "Choose a unit" step.  So, they happen in the order of your choosing due to the wording of Timing: "Sometimes, two effects have the same timing. In these cases, the Acting Player (see callout above) can choose the order in which the effects resolve."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, retnab said:

They both happen in the "Choose a unit" step.  So, they happen in the order of your choosing due to the wording of Timing: "Sometimes, two effects have the same timing. In these cases, the Acting Player (see callout above) can choose the order in which the effects resolve."

Thanks makes the little speckled guys double good value 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only bit that I’m still curious about is the effects being on different sides on the card, if that affects it. The Devouring Eel has the same little trick - if you can get three Reinforcement tokens on it when it’s not in Glory, it can activate, Devour something, flip to Glory, and Split to create another Eel in the one activation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's the same situation as the Speckled Crawlers.  If something has the same timing (start of activation), then you can do it in the order of your choosing, which does include flipping to Glory and then doing X on the Glory side.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fair enough. I was just curious if it all had to be available at the same time to choose the order - if it’s on the other side of the card it’s not available until you flip the card.

That opens up some neat tactics.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So you can choose your Speckled Crawlers on the first turn, eat one of your Fireteams to got to Glory, then generate two Reinforcement tokens from the Glory side of the card?

 

Sounds too good to be true.  

Definitely will need to explain this to my opponent.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the interest of full disclosure, there is a “Facebook post of a screenshot of a Kickstarter comment reply” allegation that this doesn’t work.  But who knows what version of the rules the comment is made during.

36 minutes ago, Wombats said:

So you can choose your Speckled Crawlers on the first turn, eat one of your Fireteams to got to Glory, then generate two Reinforcement tokens from the Glory side of the card?

 

Sounds too good to be true.  

Definitely will need to explain this to my opponent.  

Too good to be true compared to what, though?

Abyssinia player with Thrace.  Activate her, discard two cards to flip to glory, collect 2 Tactics Tokens instead of 1, then use Hand-Held Recording Device to draw the top card back off the discard pile.  Then give out her reinforcement token.  (Or reorder the draw and discard if card already in the discard pile was better than the two being discarded.j

A commander/champion flipping to glory before generating tactics tokens looks nicer because the Activation Phase chart breaks it out as a bullet point, but it’s still an Activation effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/2/2019 at 4:59 PM, solkan said:

In the interest of full disclosure, there is a “Facebook post of a screenshot of a Kickstarter comment reply” allegation that this doesn’t work.  But who knows what version of the rules the comment is made during.

Too good to be true compared to what, though?

Abyssinia player with Thrace.  Activate her, discard two cards to flip to glory, collect 2 Tactics Tokens instead of 1, then use Hand-Held Recording Device to draw the top card back off the discard pile.  Then give out her reinforcement token.  (Or reorder the draw and discard if card already in the discard pile was better than the two being discarded.j

A commander/champion flipping to glory before generating tactics tokens looks nicer because the Activation Phase chart breaks it out as a bullet point, but it’s still an Activation effect.

Just a quick aside, Thrace can't have the hand-held recording device since she's not an Abyssinia model.  She's stuck with generic earth upgrades for now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, Clement said:

Just a quick aside, Thrace can't have the hand-held recording device since she's not an Abyssinia model.  She's stuck with generic earth upgrades for now.

Ah, whoops.  You're right.  I managed to overlook two different rules saying the same thing, one in Assets

Quote

Assets may only be attached to units that they share an Allegiance with.

and this one in Hire Your Company

Quote

All Assets must be attached to units that share at least one Allegiance with them.

and just saw this part:

Quote

This Scrip can be used to hire any combination of units and Assets that belong to the Company’s chosen Allegiance. 

My poor card efficiency...  🥀

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, all in all, we all agree that we can choose the order of these "start of activation" effects due to the timing wording?

On 12/30/2018 at 5:56 PM, retnab said:

They both happen in the "Choose a unit" step.  So, they happen in the order of your choosing due to the wording of Timing: "Sometimes, two effects have the same timing. In these cases, the Acting Player (see callout above) can choose the order in which the effects resolve."

 

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information