Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
the tick

Reserves

Question

Question on how many models to add when a squad with "Reserves (x)" Reinforces. For example the Speckled Crawlers have Reserves (3).

Reserves rule text (from the pdf rulebook):

Reserves (x) Some units are made up of a seemingly endless stream of bodies. These are given the Reserves special rule. When a unit with the Reserves special unit rule Reinforces (see pg. 28), it may add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value (x). It must follow all other Reinforce rules.

Reinforcement rule text (from the pdf rulebook):

When a unit Reinforces, it discards one of its Reinforcement Tokens to add two models to the Fireteams in its unit.

When Speckled Crawlers reinforce, do they add 3 models or 5? When the Reserves text says "...may add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value (x)", I'm not sure if the "additional" models are in addition to the 2 gained from Reinforcing or if the intent is that the additional models are in place of the standard Reinforcement? Speckled Crawlers aren't exactly setting the world on fire but getting 5 models for the price of a Reinforcement Token seems real real good.

Thoughts anyone?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 5

You would add the number from the Reserve(x) to the 2 you would normally get from reinforcing. So in the case of the speckled crawlers, every time you reinforce you get 5

  • Thanks 1
  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2
1 hour ago, nomoredroids said:

Are you sure? 

Because as written, the maximum you can reinforce is X, which in this case is 3. 

It says you add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value. 5 is beyond the Reserves value. They mean you're adding additional models to the squad, not the number of models you reinforce with. 

Look at the Reinforcement rules.  

Compare

Quote

When a unit with the Reserves special unit rule Reinforces (see pg. 28), it may add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value (x). It must follow all other Reinforce rules.

vs.

Quote

When a unit Reinforces, it discards one of its Reinforcement Tokens to add two models to the Fireteams in its unit.

Nowhere in the Reinforcement rules are those models referred to as "additional".  So you add the two specified in Reinforce and then you add "an additional number of models up to the Reserves value(x)."  In other words, 2 + X.

Edit:  

For the record:

  • South Wales Borders:  Reserves(1).  Squad(2), Fireateam (5x30)
  • The Broken:  Reserves(2).  Squad(2), Fireteam (5x30)
  • Speckled Crawlers:  Reserves(3).  Squad(2), Fireteam (5x30)

They're all big base fire teams that are supposed to go through a lot of models.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
On 11/13/2018 at 1:14 PM, Clement said:

While the wording could likely use some cleaning up/FAQing...   it's got to be beyond the initial 2, otherwise The Broken make no sense.   They have Reserves 2.  If Reserves work the way you describe, there'd be no reason to write that, everyone reinforces 2 when they reinforce.

Also South Wales Borderes have Reserves 1, which would actually make them weaker if that's how it worked.


@nomoredroids "add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value (x)" means you can add up to X models. If a model with reserves 5 reinforces and only reinforces 5 models then they only reinforced 3 additional models. Additional is the keyword there, it tells us that we're adding the reserves models to something, which in context is the models gained by Reinforcing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
8 hours ago, the tick said:

Thanks for the response! I think I was over analyzing the wording on this rule.

No worries! I'm sure I'm doing the same thing on a few rules myself

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 11/7/2018 at 8:48 AM, the tick said:

Question on how many models to add when a squad with "Reserves (x)" Reinforces. For example the Speckled Crawlers have Reserves (3).

Reserves rule text (from the pdf rulebook):

Reserves (x) Some units are made up of a seemingly endless stream of bodies. These are given the Reserves special rule. When a unit with the Reserves special unit rule Reinforces (see pg. 28), it may add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value (x). It must follow all other Reinforce rules.

Reinforcement rule text (from the pdf rulebook):

When a unit Reinforces, it discards one of its Reinforcement Tokens to add two models to the Fireteams in its unit.

When Speckled Crawlers reinforce, do they add 3 models or 5? When the Reserves text says "...may add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value (x)", I'm not sure if the "additional" models are in addition to the 2 gained from Reinforcing or if the intent is that the additional models are in place of the standard Reinforcement? Speckled Crawlers aren't exactly setting the world on fire but getting 5 models for the price of a Reinforcement Token seems real real good.

Thoughts anyone?

Are you sure? 

Because as written, the maximum you can reinforce is X, which in this case is 3. 

It says you add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value. 5 is beyond the Reserves value. They mean you're adding additional models to the squad, not the number of models you reinforce with. 

  • Respectfully Disagree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, nomoredroids said:

Are you sure? 

Because as written, the maximum you can reinforce is X, which in this case is 3. 

It says you add an additional number of models up to the Reserves value. 5 is beyond the Reserves value. They mean you're adding additional models to the squad, not the number of models you reinforce with. 

While the wording could likely use some cleaning up/FAQing...   it's got to be beyond the initial 2, otherwise The Broken make no sense.   They have Reserves 2.  If Reserves work the way you describe, there'd be no reason to write that, everyone reinforces 2 when they reinforce.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×