Bits and Pieces

Lucius Mattheson

I am an active amateur writer, not a very good one, but would be very grateful for opinion and criticisms of my Malifaux pieces.

Architecture is frozen music, according to Eckermann's Conversations with von Goethe. The ruins of the Quarantine Zone, haunted by horrors, can have only been born of some strain alien to human ears, the Industrial Zone beats out a deafening rhythm day and night, enlivened by the occasional intermezzo of rending flesh and bone when another wretched soul finds his Guild contract terminated in a very final way, but the Governor's Mansion is a stately symphony.

The Secretary liked to keep a room quite bare for his recitals – varying the size of the room according to whether his whim chanced on his Amati or his Stradivari. There was seldom an audience. Lucius Mattheson would play alone in his few hours of leisure, and none of the fortunate few who had heard him could tell from his mask whether he gained solace or excitement from the music. He alone could tell, and the Secretary confided in none.

To-day, however, we might catch a note of triumph. Why, we know not – his victories are often won on the dark streets of the Slums or in the seemingly meaningless flow of pleasantry and petty patronage at a Tannery ball, away from the corridors of apparent power. To-day he had risen early, indeed, he seemed hardly to sleep, and passed through his offices like a velvet ghost. The Stradivari was brought to a hastily cleared hall and the Secretary played.

Behind the mask lurked cat-like glee, a sheer aesthetic pleasure and exultation that few would suspect. Beethoven's Violin Concerto, op. 61. The elegant figures passed, each one perfect, until there came a discord.