Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Mortarion

Failing the Seize Prey attack

Question

Widow weaver has an attack called Seize Prey which says the following:

"(1) Seize Prey (Ca 6:mask / Rst: Wp / Rg: 8): Target a model with 2 or more friendly Web Markers within 3" of it. Discard all Web Markers within 3" of the target. The target gains the Paralyzed and Poison +5 Conditions. Then, place this model into base contact with the target."

What happens if the target wins the duel? Do you still remove the Web Markers? I would say no, as it is not something you do to be able to attempt the action, but rather something you do if you succeed with the action. So if you fail, you perform no part of the effect. You do not remove the markers, the target does not gain any conditions and you do not place Widow Weaver in base contact. Do you agree with this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

This is how an Action is written if there are things that happen if it fails:

Quote

(1) "Sooey!" (Ca 6 / TN: 10 / Rg: p8): Friendly Pigs in range may push their Cg directly towards this model. If this model fails this Action, all Pigs in range immediately Charge this model.

Or

Quote

(1) Jackhammer Kick (Ml 6 / Rst: Df / Rg: y3): Target suffers 2/3/6 damage. Then, this model pushes directly into base contact with the target, even if this Attack Action fails or was taken as a Disengaging Strike.

Note the words saying explicitly that something happens if the action fails.

Otherwise, you follow the instructions in “Perform Duels”:

Quote

If the model does not succeed on any required duel, then the Action does not resolve its effects. However, some models may have Stat Triggers that will be resolved if the Action fails, so there may still be other results to resolve.

If the target of Seize Prey wins the duel, then none of the results specified in Seize Prey happen.

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

One other more complicated example of a cost you pay before figuring out if the action succeeds or not.

Quote

(1) "What Did It Just Throw?!" (Sh 6 / Rst: Df / Rg: 10): In order to take this Action, discard an Upgrade attached to this model or a Corpse Marker within 3". Target enemy model suffers 3/3/4 damage.  Place a Corpse Marker in base contact with the target.  This action may only be taken once per turn

So in this case, the Upgrade or Corpse Marker is gone regardless, while the corpse placement is an effect of the attack, so only happens when it hits.  (When Archie misses, the corpse apparently just evaporates/disintegrates).

  • Thanks 1
  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×