Help me learn to play Lucius

oistene

I have played one game so far. I felt like I was stumbling a lot in my own feet, and I didn't move up the table fast enough. Four guards didn't seem worth it, I think I rather want another Austringer. This is the list I used:

Declared Faction: Guild 

Crew Name: Lucius 50ss 

Leader: Lucius - Cache:(4)

Condescending 1ss 

Deep Pockets 2ss 

Secret Assets 2ss 

The Scribe 2ss 

Captain Dashel 8ss 

Arrest Him 0ss 

Peacekeeper 11ss 

Guild Lawyer 5ss 

Guild Guard 3ss 

Guild Guard 3ss 

Guild Guard 3ss 

Guild Guard 3ss 

Guild Austringer 6ss 

Any thoughts on how to improve the list and generally on how to play Lucuis? I am still a noob who like to play poison McMourning. :P

Lucius is about as powerful as his best minion so in your case you've turned him into a 3ss guild guard. Your list has far too many "filler" models that will not threstrn the opponent, so many guild guard and a lawyer means there is no threat kerping the opponent honest, they can just charge in and kill you.

In an interact heavy pool you could get good use out of maybe two-three guardsmen, maybe a single lawyer and only two guild guard. The peacekeeper is nice and sturdy but pretty much the only threatening model so you are making it easy for your enemy to pick their first target for killing and plenty of models just ignore most of the peacekeepers defensive abilities leaving your list without a threat. If you had another threatening model to get vengeance after the peacekeeper dies it gets a lot trickier for them. Witchling thralls hit hard and are minions so Lucius can target them with all his tricks.

He and his totem also have the condition where the enemy get double negatives on all attacks against minions and mimics so if you use beaters like thralls, mr Graves and doppelgänger you can make it really annoying for the enemy to hurt you back.