Why does Henchman Hardcore format prohibit summoning and adding remaining Soulstones to your cache?

Henchman Hardcore is a rather cool format, but:

1) Many interesting models are of almost no use in there because a lot of their power comes from summoning abilities (Mechanical Rider, or the poor Ferdinand Vogel).

2) Limited cache means that you are almost obligated to build an exactly 20SS crew, no less, or you lose something for nothing. 

Those restrictions make no sense to me, but I am kinda new to the scene, so it is likely due to me not understanding something. Anyway, why do those restrictions exist?

The summoning one is because summoning can be hugely powerful in smaller games, and by banning it in the format, you don't just find that the few models that can summon appear in every list. (It also sort of breaks the original idea of 4 models and that is all to make for a very quick game). I would say that Vogel is possibly the only model that is so reliant on the summoning rules to work that he is the only one that is a problem, and as far as I know models are designed to work in Malifux, with little consideration for the alternate forums, unless they would break them for being too good. SO a model being bad for HH but fun in Malifaux is not a good enough reason to chaneg them, because they work in their intended place.

I can't remember exactly why they decided no additional cache, but Nekima might have been part of the reason at the time. most crews can buy additional upgrades to fill their 20 ss if they want. 

The original rules were created for an earlier edition, to allow fast (20 minute) games at the end of the day,  they got updated and made official by Wyrd. 

EDIT -<MOD HAT>Also I think this is more a discussion rather than a rules question, so I'm going to move it </MODHAT>

• Like 1